new dvd player and iscan or not

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by The_Dude, Aug 16, 2004.

  1. The_Dude

    The_Dude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    Don't know if this is the correct thread, else please let me know.

    I have a sanyo z2 projector and i want to get a new dvd player to get the best image out it. I don't want a htpc.

    I have 2 options, buy a good dvd player with dvi output or buy a cheap dvd player with component output and an iscan hd. I would like to eliminate the layer change and have lip sync correction. Dvd audio and sacd are nice features but not necessary.

    What do you suggest I should do a good dvd or the iscan option?
    What dvd player would you suggest?

    Thanx
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,441
    Well if you require lipsync correction then your only option is a better DVD player because none of the video processors have a lipsync feature. The reason for this is that the sync error is caused by the delay in video processing and therefore cannot be corrected in a video processor, but only in an AV receiver etc. The video processor would only make the lipsync difference even bigger.
    AFAIK all the Arcam DVD players have the lip sync correction, so they might be a good place to start looking.

    Mark.

    ps, welcome to the forum :hiya:
     
  3. The_Dude

    The_Dude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanx for your answer,

    but the iscan hd has lip sync correction. It has 4 audio inputs(2 digital and 2 coxial) which can be delayed (automaticly and extra manual delay)
     
  4. willberry

    willberry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I thought the IscanHD did lip sync correction ?
     
  5. The_Dude

    The_Dude
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has nobody an idea?
     
  6. vonhosen

    vonhosen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +14
    The Iscan HD does have audio delay if you run your audio through it.

    Other things to consider of course are that if you buy a cheap DVD player & video processor & use component out to the processor you are introducing A/D conversions that wouldn't be there if you used a digital connection.

    Balanced against that of course are that having a video processor means that your other sources (Sky, VHS , LD etc) will benefit maybe from the better processing than the display & it acts as a convenient video switcher)

    You could get around all bases by having a SDI DVD player , SDI Sky+ etc to a processor with SDI in but you wouldn't be making any savings anywhere then.

    The agonies of choice :rolleyes:

    Oh & as for layer change elimination, unless you are using HTPC you will see some though the best result & shortest visible change is likely to come from a player like Denon A-11 (which does have DVI out & is also available with SDI mod)
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    You cant have seen an Iscan HD then mate has delays to sort out lipsync issues and works really well.!
     
  8. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,029
    This is the predicament that i am in, was really tempted with the iscan hd due to the built in audio delay and a sdi modded dvd player.
    Having done a bit a research etc i am now contemplating htpc, again, due to the endless flexibility etc, decisions, decisions :rolleyes:
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Iscan HD £1000 and zero hassle,
    HTPC £500 ish + lots and lots, its upto you mate!
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice