1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New DVD + External Scaler

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Twan1, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hiya all,

    Can anybody let me know what they think of combination of the Arcam DV79 and the Lumagen HDP Scaler??? (would be running into a 42" HD Plasma)

    If anyone has a better suggestion, please input as am open mided before i buy!

    Thanks all.
     
  2. 337GUS

    337GUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +18
    Great combo - for the best picture get the SDI version of the HDP and get the DV79 from PJ HiFi with an SDI output.

    Gus
     
  3. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    thanks very much Gus, you said exactly what i was hoping to hear! (just need a lot of reassuring when speding this amount of money lol!)
     
  4. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,624
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,737
    Although it is debatable whether it's worth spending that much on the dvd player if using the SDI output to be honest. The majority of the cost will have gone in components that you won't be using surely... there are cheaper SDI modded players out there that will give just as good results e.g. Panny RP82 (fantastic). You can get an SDI Modded philips 963SA from crtprojectors for £600 and that's a cracking player with good CD playback and SACD too which is a nice bonus. Depends how important the audio side of things are to you. If picture quality is the most important factor then I would suggest there are better ways to spend the money i.e. cheaper SDI modded dvd player and Lumagen, could easily save yourself £500 for the same results on screen!

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  5. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    Andy,

    well at the moment im running a Krell 250 cdplayer which sounds fantastic so audio isnt that important (other than whilst watching the dvd of course!

    I had been hearing a lot about that player (panny one) but no one has one on demo and i just cant get my head round the fact that a mainstream manufacturer like panny could out perform a specialist like Arcam! i'd love to get more info on the panny, can you suggest where? (i already checked their site)

    Failing that, for picture quality alone, what in your opinion is the best SDI player????
     
  6. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    for the best SDI player you need to get a model that has an excellent mpeg decoder. one that doest suffer from much cue etc. mod any of the present good dvd players and youll get very good results. for SDI modification top on my list would be

    Pioneer 868i
    Denon 3910
    Denon A11

    you could also just send an Interlaced HDMI signal from the 868i (or arcam)to a iscan ultra HD+ and get fantastic results without having to spend loads on SDI modification. the results would be quite similar.
     
  7. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,624
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,737
    Or interlaced HDMI to a lumagen HDP of course..... current firmware doesn't allow it but it's imminent

    Andy
     
  8. Twan1

    Twan1
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,132
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +22
    thanks for all your help guys, i'm thinking that buying the arcam could end up being a needless higher expense!

    Think i'll still go for sdi mod but look at the players suggested in the earlier posts.

    Thanks again
     
  9. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I've had an 868 for a long time but stopped using it since my HTPC can produce a notably cleaner and more detailed image. However, in order to get this one has to mess around with decoders, drivers, post-processors etc..

    Is the iScan going to be a big improvement over the 868's internal scaler? I'm at the point I can't be bothered fighting the PC any more but couldn't go back to a 'naked' 868 after seeing what the PC can do.

    I'm feeding an H77 native 1280x720p.

    [edit]

    I'm now confused, after reading DVDO's product specs I came across a chart which listed the resolutions the HD+ processes and it only mentions 1080i and no other 'i' resolutions .. on this page .. so I don't see how one would feed 576i to the HD+ and get it to scale. :confused:
     
  10. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    As with lumagen and DVDo there is a firmware Patch soon to allow interlaced HDMI(read as digital) to pass. Pioneer do seem to be ahead of there time on this one.
    Denon claim they need a licence to let it pass on there HDMI units but again they also say its a firmware patch.

    There is a beta patch that sorts the DVDO HD+ out though but does have other issues.
    But to be honest i thought dvdo already had it sorted in an official release.
    I`ll look into it

    The HD+ is rather good, and would be a very nice improvment over the 868is own processing. It will clean up the chroma issues as well and the DVDo scaler is very good (cant go wrong with the silicon image deinterlacing either)

    The lumagen range may be worth a look as well but i havent seen them in action but im sure they are worth the cash.

    why not fire them an email to confirm
     
  11. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ah right, now I understand why you suggested something that didn't seem possible. :)

    I will try to clarify the situation with DVDO. Cheers.

    Do I take it that feeding 576p would be less than ideal, I presume you're implying the HD+'s deinterlacer is also superior to the 868's, is that the case?
     
  12. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Without a doubt, the DVDO is built just to scale and deinterlace. and is superior in every way to the 868i in what it does
    It can also be SDI modded.(in the US this seems to be common)

    if you send it a prog signal it will scale it unprocessed but i would only bother if i could use interlaced via HDMI, as then you will get your moneys worth+ all your other equipment can benefit too.

    I saw one in action in canada but that was SDI modded but was due to be updated for interlaced digital. they used an SDI modded Denon 5900/ and 59avi(no MB with SDI on 5900) very impressive.
    Hope now there info was right regards the Passing an interlaced digital signal.
    (as said i thought it would be done already)
    But lumagen are for sure
     
  13. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Just Checked and DVDO are to release the firmware in january as they have been testing. BUT it looks as though there about to release a new scaler deinterlacer that has HDMI inputs-outputs @CES so may be worth a wait
     
  14. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Thanks for the warning, I'm in no hurry with this decision. Cheers also for checking the situation with regards the firmware.
     
  15. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I've just been poking around the 868 .. it seems it can't output at 480i, only 576i, so what'll happen with NTSC material? Does that preclude using the HDMI output for R1 DVDs?
     
  16. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    strange, it should output both
     
  17. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    :( .. maybe they changed the firmware, I bought the Pio on here late last year.

    Bugger .. I'll have to try to find a number to contact Pioneer I guess to ask.

    [edit]

    I wonder, are the options it provides dependent on the DVD that's inserted? I had a PAL DVD in the machine at the time I tried it. Maybe if I insert an NTSC one it'll show 480i .. but if so that means having to change the setting depending on the DVD, a bit of a pain.
     
  18. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    Thats possible but i cant remember as its been a while since i sold my 868i
     
  19. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    Ah right, sorry, I only just looked at your system spec. :blush:
     

Share This Page

Loading...