1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Drive Firmware?

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Crustyloafer, Feb 27, 2004.

  1. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    I have just noticed that on the thread chris posted about changing his DV89 to multiregion that he has quoted his drive firmware as being LT78. Can anyone here confirm that this is available now as an upgrade from LT76 which is what most people are using. If so can you confirm what changs have been made over and above LT76.
     
  2. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    one thing i have noticed, although i am not sure if it has anything to do with the 78 firmware and maybe it is already an arcam thing, but i was useing Avia earlier and this is just a small thing, but i like it, is that with my old players, the menus just used to change straight away, from one screen to the next, but with the arcam, they seem to fade in and out.........its very quick, but enough for me to notice it.
    Unless of course my disk is playing up......:laugh:

    Is this normal or just a nice little quirk with my machine......????
     
  3. Lowrent

    Lowrent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Arcam players are cross-fading when you browse chapters or menu pages.

    I really like that too.
     
  4. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    I'd just like to give a big :smashin: :smashin: to Arcam.........the more i play the more i like.
    This new 415 remote is a lot better than the old one as well.
    Bloody Brilliant.....:clap: :smoke:
     
  5. sticker

    sticker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chris.
    Is there any chance you could post a pic of the 415 remote?

    Regards
    John
     
  6. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    Sorry matey....i aint got a clue how to post pic's.

    I wouldernt say it is better looking than the old one.......but it seems more responsive.......when i had the 89 on demo, with the older silver remote, i really had to press the buttons hard and sometimes twice before it would work.......now the lightest touch on the new one and its fine.
    Apparently it only comes in black/charcol thow.
     
  7. bedders

    bedders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Anyone know how you can purchase one of these 415 remotes?

    I have the CR-314 remote which came with my DV88+, would prefer a more responsive remote if possible :)

    TIA
     
  8. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,236
    Has anyone managed to confirm whether there is new drive firmware or not. Oh and here is a pic of the new remote for the DV78 for those of you not capable of finding the Arcam website.

    [​IMG]

    Hmmm. Doesn't seem to want to appear in the post. Anyway if you click the link the picture is there. Something must be up with the pic posting function.
     
  9. bedders

    bedders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Latest firmware for the DV88+ is now LT78, have just had mine upgraded today.

    As far as I know the newer f/w resolves an issue playing a particular Celine Dion CD etc.
     
  10. Lowrent

    Lowrent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, better leave that to LT76 then...
     
  11. robocop

    robocop
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Old Detroit a.k.a. Chippenham. Wilts
    Ratings:
    +23
    I upgraded to LT78 yesterday as well.
    BTW, LT76 sorted out the Celine Dion problem as per this thread http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=67624&highlight=arcam+celine
    I'm uncertain what LT78 actually fixes, as the drive manufacturer (DVS) do all the firmware upgrades and as their unit is used in other makes of DVD players, the fixes may be for them, and not specific to Arcam.
    Still nice to be bang up to date through :D
     
  12. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I get my DV27 upgraded so that it DOESN't play any Celine Dion CD's :rotfl:
     

Share This Page

Loading...