New Diesel car - Need some advice please

dodgydaz

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Diesel owner novice here, so need advice.

I recently bought a Volvo C30, 1.6 Diesel, and have been having little niggling doubts about it ever since.
My main concern at the moment is from a cold start, ie – first thing in the morning, when I start it up, there is a great plume of grey / blue smoke that envelopes the car for about 30 seconds. The engine is also a bit lumpy for a short while until, I guess the glow plugs warm up. I also notice an egg smell, but not all the time.
As soon as I have driven down the road a few hundred yards, the smoke clears, as does the smell, although I have noticed the odour appearing at random times when I do drive.

I got this car from a main Volvo dealer, and was advised that it had been serviced. However I checked the oil at the weekend and it was black so know that has not been changed in a while – I know servicing does not necessarily mean the oil will be changed, but I was quite surprised that they hadn’t done it.

I have a standard year warrenty with Volvo and have paide for an additional 2 years for a bit of piece of mind.

As I have only had the car for a couple of weeks, I am not keen to spend money getting the oil changed myself if that is the reason for the smoke and smell on cold starting.

I wondered if anyone had any advice on what I should do, if anything. Is the smoking and smell normal for a diesel? It is a 3 year old car, so my first thought was that it shouldn’t be doing this.

It is so bad, that I cannot drive onto my driveway as when I reverse the next day, the car is engulfed in smoke and fumes which is not pleasant.

No, I can assure that is not normal for a diesel.
To me, it suggests a faulty glow plug on one or more of the cylinders.
So that/those cylinder/s isn't warm when it starts and you're getting the smoke.