New Denon DVD players & PAL discs

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by leedsfireman, Dec 3, 2004.

  1. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can anybody please confirm what the new players can & can't do regarding upscaling via the digital connections.i.e. pal & ntsc discs.
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    As confirmed on the other thread the 3910's deliver 480p/720p/1080i output via the HDMI/DVI & Component outputs for NTSC material and 576p/720p/1080i for PAL material
     
  3. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    OK thanks do you know about the 2 other models cause this is what i saw,

    Big_AL007
    Member


    Join Date: Oct 2002
    Location: Warwickshire
    Posts: 272
    Trader Rating: (2) You can not upscale the 2910 on PAL disks through DVI only on NTSC, this may make a big difference if your collectionis mainly NTSC. Not sure whether it works ok through HDMI, if anyone knows a way around this I would like to know.
    You can set it to out everything in NTSC but in my experience it seriously degrades the picture quatity.

    AL
    __________________
    Purveyor of HiFi, AV & Projector screens Draper and Others.
    al@ams-computers.co.uk
     
  4. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Well, I installed a 2910 yesterday married to a Pioneer 435XDE connected via HDMI. Played Spidernan R2 and set player to 720p. Screen reported signal as 750p and image looked perfect to me (and the client).
     
  5. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +41
    1910 can upscale both PAL and NTSC discs to 720p/1080i.

    There is a problem with PAL upscaling on some displays where the image does not fill the screen - for example I have a 1910 and Sanyo PLV-Z2 projector and get a gray broder around the image when upscaling. There is a fix for 1080i with this display but not 720p.

    Of course the 1910 only has DVI.
     
  6. leedsfireman

    leedsfireman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does the 1910 offer a good picture improvement when upscaling compared to your old player, i'm just trying to get all the facts correct before i decide which one to go for.
    Thanks.
     
  7. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,590
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +278
    Isn't it against DVD licensing rules that it allows upscaling via component? I wouldn't have thought a company as big as Denon would do that.

    Steve
     
  8. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    i dont think component does upscale.
     
  9. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    531
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +41
    My "old" player was an Xbox (!) - albit using the official MS hidef pack through a component connection.

    I can't see THAT much improvment to be honest. It's better, but not by a great deal. Both give a great picture. The Denon seems better when upscaling to 720p (not surprising as it's the native resolution of my display) vs 1080i, but it doesn't fill the screen on PAL discs.

    The main reason I bought the 1910 was for the upscaling, but also so I didn't have the Xbox cable trailing across my cinema.
     
  10. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,530
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    WEll, I don't use component so may be wrong but the player certainly gives you the option to choose 480p/576p, 720p or 1080i when HDMI & DVI are OFF.
     
  11. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    Forget the 1910, really tinny unit. I auditioned the 1910/2910/3910 yesterday and ended up upgrading from the 1910 to the 2910.
     
  12. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    The 2910 does this for 480/576p but is ok in 720p and 1080i mode - just set it to 720p and you'll get a better picture anyway.
     
  13. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    It upscales both NTSC and PAL via HDMI/DVI - just tried it down here R4 PAL and R1 NTSC - pj reports 720p on both disks
     
  14. ozdvduser

    ozdvduser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    170
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    At The Track or Melbourne Victoria Australia
    Ratings:
    +3
    The 2910 does not upscale via Component, only HDMI/DVI
     
  15. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    The manual for the 3910 states that for 1080i NTSC should be selected(rather than Auto or PAL), doesn´t that mean that it forces PAL to 60hz, atleast with 1080i?
     
  16. gandley

    gandley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    5,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Paradise Lost
    Ratings:
    +269
    probaly, but theres no real benefit from choosing 1080i over 720p anyway. the 1080i setting seems to work fine when machine is set in auto mode
     
  17. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    902
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1
    For my 5700 the 1080i doesn´t work, it gives an unstable vibrating image. Haven´t tried switching to NTSC though.

    "probaly, but theres no real benefit from choosing 1080i over 720p anyway."
    There´s a thread over at avs and I think many prefer 1080i for 720p displays oddly enough. But surely 1080i might look better on a 1080p display?
     

Share This Page

Loading...