New complete AV system

Kam K

Standard Member
Hi,

I am redecorating my house and have decided to finally invest in some good audio visual equipment. I have been doing some research but I am unsure as what the best products to buy are.

I was looking at the panasonic TX 3D TV series 50" or bigger, along with the pioneer 800 amp and the B and W CM9 series speakers. However I am also considering changing the sub and getting the sunfire true eq10 sub.

I am also considering having speakers in the ceiling for music, creating a multi room system.

However I am not sure if this will be beneficial and would like to know if anyone has a separate system like this, or whether using the surround sound system would be ok.

I would also like to know if the products I have listed are good or if I can get better for less. I am new to all this some have no idea of the pitfalls etc.

Is it worthwhile having it professionally fitted or is it easy to do it myself?

Any help would be appreciated.

BlueWizard

Distinguished Member
In my opinion, you are looking at two separate projects, the AV speaker/amp system is one, and distributed music is the other.

On the speakers in the ceiling, remember that speakers don't just magically appear in the ceiling, you have to cut holes for them. And if you are putting speakers in your ceiling, then you are putting speakers in someone else's floor.

Next and more important, you have to tear up the wall and ceiling in order to run wire from the speaker, to the point where it connects to the amp. This is fine if you are remodeling and the wall and ceiling are already tore up. But for a finished room, it is added mess and expense.

Distributed by wire systems are virtually dead. Today, it is so much easier to have a small system in each room and stream the music either over wire or wireless computer network. If you just want basic casual listening sound in the remote rooms, then something like this might be good.