• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

New Camera or New Lens?

dazza74

Distinguished Member
Looking for some advice please

a) Upgrade camera to a D300
b) Buy the new Nikkor 14-24mm F2.8 lens for my existing D80
c) Do neither

I've thrown in option (c) as it would be hard financially to justify getting the new camera and lens at the same time.

I've no experience of pro quality glass on a camera so I'd be interested in whether anyone would pick glass over camera or camera over glass in this scenario.

Also gather the 14-24mm lens can't take a filter due to the hood being a permanent fixture so advice on ways to get around this problem would also be greatly appreciated.

Although this may look a dedicated Nikon thread, I'm interested in all camera owners opinions to get as much advice as possible :thumbsup:

stevegreen

Distinguished Member
How long have you had the D80 and what do you think replacing it with the D300 will gain you?

What lenses do you have at the moment and what do you mainly shoot?

dazza74

Distinguished Member
How long have you had the D80 and what do you think replacing it with the D300 will gain you?

What lenses do you have at the moment and what do you mainly shoot?

Had the D80 since January (2007), the obvious areas I feel I would gain in having the D300 would be in more megapixels, better at higher ISO and Live View may be of use. I've discounted a lot of the other lens ranges as I'm purely interested in landscape photography, got a sigma 10-20 currently which I like but do get the impression this 14-24mm Nikkor is in a different league but it should be at about 4 times the cost I guess.

Radiohead