1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new buyer advice

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by plasmasomething, Mar 29, 2005.

1. plasmasomething

plasmasomething

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All

I am very new to Plasma Screens and do not know that much about them except that I need one!

I am wondering what the best package is for 2k or under and what needs to be included in this package - I also have loads of questions and do not trust any person whio woks in any shop anywhere and so I am asking for opinions here - any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Question 1.
    What is the Hitachi 42PD5200PRO like - they say that it is High Definition TV but is the format compatable with how Sky intend to transmit?Is it a good screen? I also looked at Panasonic TH42PWD6BX but not high def and need extras with it? Any suggestions or a shortlist with pros and cons?

Question 2.
    What is the difference betweenthe 42PD5000 and 42PD5200?

Question 3.
    I will watch TV through Sky - I have been told that the best picture for TV is use Sky with S video lead [not skart] is this true?What is the best lead?

Question 4.
    I will have tthree TVs [one Plasma screen in my play room and another normal TV in living room and a crap little TV in the bedroom]. With this setup I could pay Sky extra money for two boxes or simply use one. Now I now from current experience that I can but a little transmiter so that I can watch TV in two rooms but has to be the same channel - in my setup I have options:
    a. One sky box and two transmitters to other two Ts
    b. Two sky boxes and one transmit to upstairs
    c. Three sky box - forget that one.

option b - I would have a sky box s video to plasma and a sky box to living room TV - good but more expensive