New build

Discussion in 'Computer Components' started by allspark, Dec 22, 2011.

  1. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi, I was wondering if all of these parts will be compatible. I'm building without graphics and buying a card about a month later, I already have cd drive and wireless card, any help appreciated.:)


    processor- Intel i5 2500k
    mobo -Msi z68A-GD55
    case- fractal design r3
    psu- 650w antec truepower modular
    ram- 8GB corsair xms3
    ocz ssd
    cooler ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  2. LJx

    LJx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +436
    They are all compatible, I would shop around for a deal on a HDD though
     
  3. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks:smashin:

    I'll have a look around for hdd, hopefully they'll come down in price next year and i can get a bigger one. thanks for you'r help.
     
  4. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +806
    You might consider getting a modular power supply to get a neater/tidy install :smashin:
     
  5. llama

    llama
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Eskilstuna
    Ratings:
    +48
    I would go with 8GB RAM personally, it is not a lot more money, and it will make your system more future proof, if that is even possible with computers ;)
     
  6. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  7. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thanks I'm changing it to 8gb its worth it:smashin:
     
  8. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    Completely agree that now is the time to snap up 8GB or RAM as it's so cheap even though you don't need unless your encoding/photoshop etc.

    The Corsair builder series PSU's aren't great. The Antec one you spec'd above is very good and modular. Remember though the fractal design define R3 hasn't got a windowed case (although they are rumoured to be releasing one next year) so modular isn't all that essential but it does improve case airflow and is easier to build with.

    With current HDD prices still high (but slowly falling), rather than getting a £56 250GB HDD I'd grab an OCZ Agility 3 60GB for £70 and install your OS and vital programmes/game or two to that. Then when prices have stabilised and back to normal grab a storage drive or keep and eye out on the classifieds if budget is tight and one is need urgently.

    Motherboard is fine but I'd go for this one. Bit cheaper and overclocks brilliantly!

    MSI Z68A-GD55 (B3) Motherboard

    What CPU cooler are you using? Surely not the stock Intel one?
     
  9. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    I'll have a look at them thanks.
    Thanks again I've changed to that one.

    Yeah I was going to get a hyper 212 or a Gelid later on as I didn't know if there would be much point overclocking since I wasnt going to be gaming on it for a month until I get a graphics card. Do you think its best getting one straight away?
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  10. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    I would just get a cooler now. It'll save you a right pain in the backside if you have to remove the motherboard to fit the new cooer. (Although the motherboad tray on the Fractal Design Define R3 has a large cut away behind it). For the sake of £25 (+P&P) I'd rather get it now.
     
  11. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,619
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +806
    Well, seeing how the 2500k is easily capable of 4.5gHz out of the box with no voltage tweaks (just crank up the CPU multiplier to 45), probably worth getting a better cooler!
     
  12. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
  13. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
    Perfect.
     
  14. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Cool:) one last question will that psu be enough for a 2gb 560ti ?
     
  15. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Staffordshire
    Ratings:
    +196
  16. allspark

    allspark
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Will take a look at them and thanks you've been a great help.
     
  17. rubbertatti

    rubbertatti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Outta space
    Ratings:
    +12

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice