New build using old hard drive

Discussion in 'Home Entertainment Computers' started by iMcC, Jan 5, 2012.

  1. iMcC

    iMcC
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm going to put together a basic HTPC using some new and a few spare parts from a faulty HP Pc.

    My main query is. Would i be able to use the hard drive that was in the HP machine and installed with Vista with a brand new motherboard? Would vista work as normal once it's all put together or would i need to purchase a seperate version of windows?

    Cheers
     
  2. robbo100

    robbo100
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,481
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +269
    If you swap your motherboard, it MIGHT work, but the difference may be to big to allow it to boot. It is likely that the recovery discs supplied with your HP machine would not work.

    It might be worth giving it a try...
     
  3. nick8571

    nick8571
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +34
    You'd be better off doing a clean install - any Vista setup disc (not a manufacturer's recovery disc) will do, as they're all the same apart from the Enterprise version, and you could use your existing product key from the CoA sticker on the HP machine.

    I should point out though that an OEM version of Windows (probably the case with your old HP machine) is tied to the PC it's first installed on, and the terms of the OEM license prohibit you from transferring it to a new computer. It will probably work in practice (you may have to activate over the phone), but you won't technically be license-legal, if that bothers you. :)
     
  4. Ian North

    Ian North
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Poitou-Charentes
    Ratings:
    +2
    I swapped a drive from a failed Asus 875P board onto a Gigabyte P35 board and it complained loudly on boot. I have the usual service boot discs that are available and one has a disc controller reset. It worked without issue or complaint. I have heard of mixed success with just plugging the drive in and letting windows do its work but for me I had to apply the controller outside of windows. An OEM license will likely mean a phone activation once your swap is complete.
     
  5. ktuludays

    ktuludays
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +62
    normally any major hardware change will result in either re-activation or re-install. sometimes you get lucky but not often
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice