New Build - Home cinema build

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by tonyk79, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +184
    I've just booked a new build which should be ready in July/August and I wanting to have my tv's stream content from a central source with minimal cabling. The house build has cat 5 wiring as standard included and satellite coaxial points in each room. I'm gonna ask them to upgrade the cabling to cat 6.

    I plan to run this media server from an old computer I have, q6600, 4gb ram and an amd 6770 card using xbmc. I would like the computer to be kept in the under stairs storage and stream content to the tv's in the lounge, kitchen and bedroom. What would be the best way to do this. I don't want to use wireless networking.

    Thanks
     
  2. Ghostrider

    Ghostrider
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    884
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +127
    Run cables or use Powerline adaptors.
     
  3. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Definitely run cables as this is the best time to do it at new build stage. Get 3,4 or 5 Cat6s run to each room from a central point
     
  4. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +184
    Folks,

    Thanks for the replies.

    I was thinking of:
    Living Room - wall plate with 4 sockets to allow connection of, Xbox, BD Player and Sky.
    Kitchen - 2 port to allow connection of sky box and TV.
    Bedrooms, just a double port port in each.

    I would then have these running back to the central room, say under stairs storage where it will connect to a say 24 port gigabit switch and then the wan port connects to the router. I will be having Bt infinity based Broadband, not sure on provider yet, so will the router the supply be any good for my setup or is better to bin it and buy a higher class of router?

    Ps I know I will need a switch to patch from the router to the 24 port.
     
  5. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Are you looking to distribute Xbox sky and BluRay around the house. If so then you need to to do that cat6 differently.

    Seb
     
  6. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +184
    No, just play content and have internet access in the room they are in. My idea is to reuse the old PC to store the music/videos/photos and then access it using the device in each room. I take if I went the other way with this setup I would need hdmi over Ethernet using an hdmi matrix or similar?
     
  7. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Yes that is correct but it would seem an option that is worth planning for. So running a few extra cat6s would give you that flexibility
     
  8. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +184
    Yeah that makes sense as it's easy when the house is a shell, well a hole in the ground at the moment! Do you reckon it's worth changing the standard router that will be supplied.
     
  9. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    No the router will generally be fine, very little gain for different routers.

    Gigabit switch for networking
     
  10. tonyk79

    tonyk79
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,329
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +184
    Thanks for your assistance.
     
  11. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    No problem, when you are ready to move forward remember to consider my company for any solution.

    Seb
     

Share This Page

Loading...