New build help

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by snico, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am looking at building a new base unit myself, my previous pc has died and with its age and spec it may be better to renew

    I use to have a Dell Dimension 4400, it wasnt amazing but did everything I needed. Its spec was as follows;

    Intel Pentium 4 1.8 GHz
    40 GB hard drive
    2 x 512mb memory
    etc

    You can see it was low end, I have a budget of approx £200ish after just buying a new tv:D

    What could I get for my money and where would be the best place to buy?

    Would it be possible to use my existing tower case for the build?

    I dont need a DVD writer as I put a new one in before my old pc died

    Any info is much appreciated as i'm a newbie at building one myself and I hope I can get all the info I need here

    Steve
     
  2. EarthRod

    EarthRod
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7,870
    Hi

    There are a few guides on the internet which can help you assemble a PC, Here's one that was posted recently by a fellow forum member Mumid on another thread:

    How to build a PC - The Tech Report - Page 1

    There are others if you do a search.

    Alan
     
  3. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I was to go ahead with the build myself, would my existing Dell tower be fine to use or would another case be needed?
     
  4. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I did a recent build of a budget system, and found ebuyer to be the cheapest for all the parts, a few places might do one or two parts cheaper, but didn't find any place that did the lot as cheap as ebuyer.

    And if you choose the 5 Working Days delivery it will be free delivery as well, (I chose the 5 working days delivery option and it arrived in 2 days).

    I had a look on ebuyer and here's what i could find for you, it's a little over £200, but you can reduce that if you have an old cd/dvdrw drive that you can use or an old case/psu;

    [​IMG]

    If you're gonna run Windows Vista stay with 4GB RAM, but if you're gonna use Windows XP you can do with 2GB RAM and save £15
    (OCZ 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 CL 4-4-4-15 PLATINUM XTC with LIFETIME WARRANTY £22.99).

    Most of the parts I know to be good, but if you like what I've suggested I'd say talk to someone about the processor and motherboard I've chosen before you buy, to make sure it's suitable for you.


    Here's what i bought;
    (the prices of the parts are without VAT, I would've done printscreen of the shopping basket but I think they don't do the case that i bought anymore)
    [​IMG]

    I had an old dvdrw drive so didn't need to buy one. Right now I'm running Windows XP on it and it is really fast, I will be running Windows7 on it when it's released.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  5. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that info, very helpful. I might go ahead with that because it seem plenty for me.

    When you say talk to someone about the processor and motherboard, does this mean they might not work together?

    Also will my existing case be ok for this?

    Steve
     
  6. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    They will work together, but I don't know if it will be suitable for your needs. It depends on what you intend to use it for.

    I included a DVDRW drive in the shopping cart in my previous post, and have just realised you don't need one. That saves you £15.

    4GB RAM if you wanna run windows vista (4GB in shopping cart £38.99),
    2GB RAM if you wanna run windows xp (£22.99), is my recommendation.

    The motherboard has onboard graphics (not the best, won't do much good for games), but you can add a 512mb graphics card for £27.46 (ASUS HD 3450 512MB DDR2 passive heatsink cooler VGA DVI HDCP HDTV out PCI-E Graphics Card).

    And before you go ahead and buy that, wait for someone to reply and confirm whether it's a good deal (I hope someone replies). I'm a little out of touch with computing, but thought I'd share my opinion as I've just recently built a budget system.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  7. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that, i'll look into it later and hopefully start ordering the parts.

    i didnt really want an onboard graphics card as I hear they are not as good and might play the odd game. The spec is a LOT better than what i did have

    Also, my old pc came with a disc to re-intstall XP Home, which is the OS I would ideally like to use. Can this be used on he new build or is only compatable for my previous PC?

    Sorry for all the questions but I just want to get this right

    Steve
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  8. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm assuming it's a recovery disc, in that case I don't know how to install xp from a recovery disc on a different machine (if it's possible).
    It MIGHT be possible to get microsoft to send you a copy of the windows xp install cd, since you already have a license for it. Give them a call and see what they say, say you lost your copy.

    But if it's a windows install cd then it is possible.

    If you don't know the difference, you can tell us what it says on the cd.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  9. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    The disc says:

    Reinstallation CD Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition

    Only use this CD to reinstall the operating system on a Dell computer. This Cd is not for the reinstallation of programmes or drivers

    Also will all the parts come with the relevant ribbon/cables etc of fo i need to get them also

    I'm tempting to get someone to do this for me, but I wannt try myself and learn how to do it. I'll never know if i dont try

    Steve
     
  10. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    That cd is a recovery cd, and unfortunately i don't know if it's possible to install it on a new machine.

    The motherboard comes with;

    1x sata cable
    1x molex to sata power converter.
    1x ide cable
    1x floppy cable

    So pretty much everything you need, unless your dvdrw drive is sata in which case you would need to get another sata cable (but I'm assuming you have an IDE dvdrw).


    Building it is pretty straightforward, everything is colour coded and you get full instructions from the motherboard booklet.

    Only problem is fixing those fiddly little case connectors to motherboard (power switch/ reset switch etc.) with them being quite small.
     
  11. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks for the info.

    I'm going to use my old case as i quite like it, hopefully it will be fine.

    Will keep my existing writer and floppy etc. Will add a card reader onto the list.

    The suggestion you gave me does not inlcude a power PSU, i wont need anything to big will i?
     
  12. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    a psu is in the shopping cart. it's a 400w one and comes with a cable too.

    unless you're still using floppys don't bother with a floppy drive.
     
  13. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I just noticed yes. Well I will start ordering the parts today and keep you informed.

    I will get everything on the list apart from the case and the writer and see how I get on.

    Thanks for the info pilot, very helpful

    Steve

    ps if i want to add a seperate graphics card, will that motherboard still be fine or can I get a different one?
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2009
  14. Mumid

    Mumid
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,541
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +327
    You wont be able to use the recovery disk, allthough im not sure on the legality of using your serial key from your existing windows system to install a fresh downloaded copy of windows.

    The system that is specced out looks fairly decent to be honest, just be careful with cheap power supplies as they have a tendancy to blow up taking half of your system with it!
     
  15. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    My Broadband is going to be wireless after next week so i'm assuming I need a wireless adaptor of some sort?
     
  16. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  17. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,230
    I very much doubt that will install on your PC at all. Vendor OS's are normally tied to specific hardware, something that your new build will not have and so the installation will fail.

    Also, its likely the key is an OEM one, and they live and die with the PC it is installed on, and so it will fail activation even if you somehow manage to get it installed. Trying to re-register will also fail, as even a saying something like "...the motherboard is blown.." will have them explain that you are effectively using a new PC and therefore require a new licence.
     
  18. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have removed most of the parts from my old damaged pc. I have looked at the inside of the Dell casing and i'm not too sure if it is standard. Dont want to get all the parts and realise they are not going to fit:(
     
  19. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    here are a couple of pictures of my old case, not sure what to do about the existing power button and USB ports on the front:rolleyes:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  20. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone
     
  21. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Is the 2nd pic showing the side panel where motherboard was?

    For the front usb and power buttons, there should have been cables attached to them (i hope you kept them), you should have taken them off motherboard but left them attached to the case.

    What should fit in the case;

    • psu
    • hard drive (looks like 2 max)
    • cd/dvd drive (looks like 2 max)
    • any pci cards

    Check the product number of the motherboard that was in the tower originally (google it). If it was microATX (mATX) format, you know the tower supports that format.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  22. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes pilot I have kept all the cables, the second pic is where the motherboard was.

    The model number of the motherboard is aaa67834-304

    Had a look on Google and there is some info. but cant say exactly what it is.

    I will get the motherboard first and see if it fits, if not then I know I need a new tower
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2009
  23. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what i have come up with, does this look ok and will everything work together?

    [​IMG]
     
  24. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  25. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers pilot
     
  26. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    check your motherboard for the product number "D845PT", if it matches then it is mATX format, and your new motherboard should fit in your dell case.
     
  27. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
  28. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i think your old one is mATX, your new one should fit.
     
  29. snico

    snico
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers pilot, i'm seriously considering just paying the extra and getting one built for me. Got a feeling I am going to encounter some problems on the way, its just my luck!
     
  30. pilot7922

    pilot7922
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    if you live in london, i think there's a few computer fares that open on weekends and usually there is a tech guy that builds systems for people for a very small fee.

    you might even be able to find some parts cheaper there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...