1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Astra 19e HD Demo Channel

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Hellicopter, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Freq 11434
    Vert Pol
    Sr 22000

    Very short loop at present with no sound.
    Jerky movement(similar to other Demo channel before software upgrade)
     
  2. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is this channel still on and what do you use to view it? If it is your PC, can you please tell me what software and filters you use?

    I use DVBViewer full version, but can not get a picture, I get a signal bar so I know there is something there, I have also tried ALT-DVB as well.
     
  3. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sorry using Qualitv sat box so cannot help.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Is this the one with blue and white blocks??? titled ASTRA HD?
     
  5. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    To Hellicopter, thanks anyway for replying.

    Hornydragon, the Astra HD is on 12441 I think, this seems to be something else, another forum I read, thinks it's 720 resolution.

    Am tinkering at the moment to see if I can get anything to work.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    there are a few test channels but with the stb registering 300 channels its hard to sort the wheat from the chaff.
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +715
    The full parameters are :
    11436 V, SR=22000, FEC=5/6 VPID=66 (no APID so no audio).
    The ID is "Test1".
    There is 1 other channel in the multiplex which is called "Test_1016" and is showing colourbars (VPID=214, APID=215).

    The HD (or really EDTV) channel is 1280x720p (16:9) - i.e. progressive scan.
    Datarate is 17 Mbps.

    I checked this info with my registered version of TSreader.
    The actual video shots are not the "Pioneer" ones .

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  8. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks Chris!!, Got the colour bars up for "test_1016" , but DVBViewer v2.2(full version) seems to be having a problem with "Test 1".

    Can you supply a: Service, PMT and PCR ID please, I have the Lnb selection and 22khz, LOF MHZ at 10600 and DiseqC at PosA/Opt A. I am only using 1 LNB at the moment.

    I can get Euro1080 through no problem, which is why I can't work out why this channel is not showing correctly!!!
     
  9. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks Chris
    I was on holiday for a week and arrived home today. When I saw this thread, I tried to tune in, got the colour bars and assumed it had been discontinued. Thanks to your detailed info I am looking at it now. I don't have a smooth playback but I must say it looks really clear, better than a lot of the 1080i clips especially the flower garden and the steam train part.

    Jim
     
  10. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +715
    PCR PID is 65
    Channel number 6290
    Transport Stream ID is 1016 (3f8 hex )
    SDT PID is 17 (11 hex)

    I am actually using LOF of 9750 (22 KHz tone off).
    On many receivers/cards, this frequency will work with either but may be stronger with one or the other depending on your LNB and receiver characteristics
    (in your case the tuner on your PCI card).
    11436 with 9750 MHz LO gives an IF of 1686 MHz.
    11436 with a 10600 MHz LO gives an IF of 836 MHz.
    836 MHz is outside the IF range of many receivers.

    I suspect that all you need to input additionally is the PCR.
    It's unusual (but not illegal under DVB specs) to have a PCR PID that is one less than the video PID.
    Some viewing programs may make false assumptions about this.
    I had to insert an audio PID of 0 before my viewer (DVBapps) showed the picture.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  11. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I believe the loop is BBC sourced.At least , it is the film the BBC showed at the recent 'Mediacast' exhibition.
    The 'Manor House' looks like their research centre near Evesham.
     
  12. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Hellicopter, I was just about to confirm that it is BBC. I recorded the full clip and it plays back at the correct speed in WinDVD without jerking. I can pause it of course and on one of the flying bricks the Cbeebies BBC logo can be seen clearly, on another is the BBC news 24, BBC THREE etc.

    Jim
     
  13. aligebes

    aligebes
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    229
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is the clip of an old aeroplane? I managed to view a clip, though I don't know what I did to do this, and I can not get it back!!!

    I have an Athlon2500xp (333fsb) should I be considering upgrading this?
     
  14. Hellicopter

    Hellicopter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2002
    Messages:
    331
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Amongst other things,yes it is.
     
  15. Eson

    Eson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was under the assumption that 720p was regarded as HDTV and not EDTV. 480p however that microsoft likes to call HDTV on their xboxgames is EDTV.
     
  16. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    cant get Test 1 on QualiTV STB :(
     
  17. Muf

    Muf
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    IRL
    Ratings:
    +8
    Museumsteve, the 720p test finished last Mon or Tue and then they proceeded with WMV tests I believe, which of course could not be easily decoded.

    Jim
     
  18. museumsteve

    museumsteve
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,632
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Nth Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +1,023
    lol, I really must keep up ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...