• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

New and rather complicated system advice

MikeyT

Standard Member
Hey all,

Initally Kudos on the site and info given on here, I've been reading info from here for ages but I need some advice as I can't find the answers to the following.

I need to sort the following system out for my brother and am a little unsure which is the best solution. What he's looking for is that each room has just a very descrete I.R. receiver at each screen (13 in total) and all source equipment is to be located in a cooled cabinet hidden away.

4 HD inputs (x2 V+ boxes, PS3, Blue Ray) and 13 outputs. As mentioned he wants them to be completely switchable via I.R.

I'm also installing (I'm a telecoms engineer)

RG6 aerial to all
Internet connections
SONOS in each room
Some gaming equipment (also installed in aforementioned cupboard)

I need advice on the following

What is the best way of acheiving the switchable HD distribution system?
What is the best I.R. solution?
Which are the recommended baluns?

I've told him that this is not going to be cheap and he's told me that he's willing to spend "whats needed to sort it".

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated as i'm a little stuck

Thanks all

dj-dulux

Established Member
As you are doing this for someone else you need to be very careful, agree the exact functionality and expectations at the start. Don't assume anything, don't let your brother assume anything. Also be prepared for fault finding, sorting out equipment features (such as control over HDMI), general HDMI issues, audio routing etc.