1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new and naiive

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by MrMatt, Oct 16, 2004.

1. MrMatt

MrMatt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello folks :)

As I said I'm new to the home audio game and havent got a clue what I'm looking at, I'm much more at home with my I.C.E but by the looks of things in this forum its a totaly different can of worms.

I'm on a tight budget being a student with a family so I was considering buying second hand to get more bang for my buck. A freind of a freind is moving to the US and is selling his setup and I would like your honest and if neccesary brutal oppionion on what he has for sale, as I am very ignorant to hifi I aint even heard of anything hes selling.

He's selling for the best offer recieved:
    Cambrige Audio A500 amp
    Cambridge Audio D100 CD
    TDL Studio 10 floorstanders
    Gale 3080 sub

Are these worth a 30 mile trip to listen to and if so how much should I be paying, btw I tend to crindge when subjected to cheep s**t audio so I could do without wasting my time (I'm sure you can level with me).

Thanks for looking :thumbsup:

2. Mylo

Mylo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +372
    :thumbsup: Welcome to the Forums buddy :thumbsup: .
    I too came here with an ICE background :) but this game is not hard to understand once you get used to it.
    One lesson I learned is don't be put off by a Hifi/Av amp having what we would regard as a low power rating, my 45 watt pc Arcam can really annoy the neighbours.

I've owned Cambridge amps before and they have a nice sound and can generally go pretty loud.

3. MrMatt

MrMatt

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Mylo,