New and confused....

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by Mur6v, Mar 26, 2006.

1. Mur6v

Mur6v

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

Brand new to the forum, having been recommended to you from elsewhere.

Needing desperate advice. I have tried to search the forum itself, but, I am a layman and need an idiots guide.

So, I am looking to buy a 37" LCD tv. Nothing fancy, I don't currently have Sky nor do I make use just now of any Cinema surround set up.

I like the Toshiba 37WL56 or 37WL58. The 56 would probably be better, because Freeview reception here is quite dismal ( Can you swap from digital to analogue on a integrated freeview tv?)

Anyway, yes you know where this is going, I am utterly confused as to HD Ready and HD Compatible. What is the difference in simple terms?

Are the above tvs both 'future proofed'? If I decide not to go for either of these tellys, what must I look for, to be covered.

As I dont have Sky as yet, and it may be some time before I do ( a long story dont ask), will the fact that I have purchased a HD telly be affected by a analogue/digital signal? Will it look rubbish?

Thanks for any likely replies....

2. baxter

baxter

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

like yourself I came with very little idea as to what to look for in a future proof television and although I am no expert I have picked up quite a bit of useful information from here, enough infact to make an informed decision and order up a new HD ready LCD television. This is it below

http://www.home-entertainment.toshi...es/lcdplasma-lcdfreeview-32wlt58?opendocument

I am reliably informed to go or "HD ready" as opposed to "HD compatible", the reason being that compatible is a gimmick and ones to avoid.

The television I ordered up as two HMDI (high definition multimedia interfaces) for hooking up sky HD and a future games console (Xbox 360 or PS3).Or as I'm led to believe HD DVD players.