1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Vigour, May 8, 2005.

1. Vigour

Vigour

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

New to this forum dont have a clue what section to post this in, you all seem pritty technical!

Anyway i have 2 Pioneer SX430 speakers (cant find any info on them) all i know is they are 170w each impendance 8ohm

i also have a Pioneer A-x530 which i also can't find any info on, i have a feeling this amp just isnt using the speakers to the full power.

Looking at most amps in my price range they say 60w per channel, now if these are 170w each speaker surely that amp isnt enough?

total beginner here so i need it explaining all the specification jagron.

basically just think i need a new amp 1 that will use the speakers to full potential thanks!

2. mjcairney

mjcairney

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +833
    Welcome to the forums.

The 170W quoted is the maximum power handling of the speakers so you'll do no harm feeding them less but it goes without saying that a higher power amp will do a better job.

Hope this helps a little.

Cheers,

Martin.

3. Vigour

Vigour

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the reply & welcome!

The pioneer amp i have is a "home" hifi amp as i could put it, now each channel im pritty sure can't be 170w! making it a 340w amp???? am i right?

So is it underpowering the speakers?

4. Harry T2

Harry T2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    Hi Vigor,