New Amp needed

S

Steve76

Hi All,

I am relatively new to the world of home cinema seperates. I am a brit living in the US currently and am about to move into a home with 6.1 surround built in. I a little lost as to what to look for in an amp and wondered if you could ratify/reject the following decision.

I am currently taken with the Yamaha RX-V1500.

I am slightly confused at how I would wire my setup though as I only have 6.1 speakers. I looked at the yamahas manual online and it only confused me more!

I also have more rooms in the home with built in speakers and I wondering if I could use the yamahas amp'd zone 2 to feed into a speaker selector and power speakers on the patio, living room and dining room from it - would this work?

Advice, help and expertise wanted. Let me know what you think.

Thanks
Steve

Steve76 said:
Hi All,

I am relatively new to the world of home cinema seperates. I am a brit living in the US currently and am about to move into a home with 6.1 surround built in. I a little lost as to what to look for in an amp and wondered if you could ratify/reject the following decision.

I am currently taken with the Yamaha RX-V1500.

I am slightly confused at how I would wire my setup though as I only have 6.1 speakers. I looked at the yamahas manual online and it only confused me more!
When you say "6.1 surround built in" I assume you mean in-wall/in-ceiling speakers and their wiring only.
If that's correct and the speakers are wired to a central location, typically where you want to place your surround sound equipment, then it should be no problem to connect an AV amp/receiver like the mentioned Yamaha, which can drive up to 7 speakers, excluding the proprietary front effect channels.
Simply put, connect the wires from the 6 speakers to the respective outputs of the Yamaha (omit one of the surround back outputs since you only have 6 speakers) and you are set.