New Amp for Tannoy SFX 5.1 Speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Sheepdisease, Feb 1, 2009.

1. Sheepdisease

Sheepdisease

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    The Denon AVR1909

Please tell me what you think? What is the best I can get for my money, say £300? So long as it allows me to connect games consoles (Wii, N64, PS2, possibly PS3), Squeezebox Duet, TV, DVD player/Blueray player so that all audio/visual processing is done through the amp and played through speakers (unless a decent alternative DVD player can be recommended for this) and provides TrueHD & HDMI 1.3 with 1080p passthrough/upscaling.

The system will be used to play music from my PC through the Squeezebox and for immersive sound whilst watching films.

I don't mind second hand, just as long as it is in good condition.

2. d1979

d1979

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +21
    I'm no expert but I have both the 1909 and the Tannoys. I've not had a 5.1 amp or speakers before so I'm pretty impressed still. The speakers are only ever to be a stop gap and I intend to replace them with something else in the not too distant future.
    They are poor for music compared to my old B&W 601s but then this has to be expected for £150!

The 1909 seems great. I don't have much reference but I am more than happy with it, easy to setup, easy to use and has more than enough inputs for me.

3. dwhite

dwhite

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    Sheepdisease - Please give people time to read and respond to your post. Bumping after only 45 minutes is unnecessary and only clogs up the forum with unrequired posts. I have deleted your bump post.

4. Sheepdisease

Sheepdisease

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5