1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Amp - 6.1 or 7.1?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ShortNick, Jan 7, 2004.

1. ShortNick

ShortNick

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    I'm not a newbie to all this and have searched the forums for an answer but I'm tying myself in knots. What is the difference between an amp with a single rear centre output compared to one with 2 centre rears. The way I understand it is that there are no 7.1 DVDs so the only sound you will get from the rears is a single channel split into 2 for 7.1. Is this right. Also, I'm looking to spend between £500-800 on a new amp, probably a Sony, so is there a point shelling out extra for 2 rear channels? I have Mirage AVS200 speakers (100W) at the moment and would need another pair. Any help is appreciated.

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    there are no 7.1 formats yet so it is there for use in the furture or utilising matrix functions EG LOGIC 7
    Might i suggest you demo a HK AVR4550 or 5550 model both are 7.1 with logic 7 and allow you to utilise all 7 channels if connected or stick with 5/6.1 5.1 is most common format at the moment.
    What display are you using and what will you be conecting?

3. chris l.

chris l.

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    ShortNick,

You are right on the rear channel, whether 6.1 or 7.1 they both get the same signal.

I run 6.1 (mind you its hard to find a single speaker for sale), I ended up buying a pair and selling on 1 after having tried 2 speakers and it making no difference to my ears whether 1 of 2 was in my layout, so I made a little saving on the way (rare in av / hifi). Though there is a big difference between 5.1 and 6.1 / 7.1.