1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Aldi / Tevion 32" LCD

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by npd, May 19, 2005.

  1. npd

    npd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

    I have just seen the new aldi offers for 26th May onwards... They have a 32" Tevion LCD for £750.

    Don't have much details for it, found a thread on a german forum about it -no chance of translating it though!

    http://forum.digitalfernsehen.de/forum/showthread.php?t=74929&page=1&pp=15

    It claims to have an 8ms (grey to grey) response time - is this in contrast to say 16~25ms of most lcds?

    1366x768 resolution
    HDTV compatible
    1000:1 contrast ratio
    550cd/m2 brightness
    DVI
    2 RGB Scart
    front composite and s-video

    It doesn't mention component.

    Has anyone else seen this?

    ***************************

    Edit :-

    As this thread is now over 60 pages long a summary/index has been posted here:-

    AV Forums - Summary & Index - New Aldi / Tevion 32" LCD
     
  2. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +292
    Allow me:

    Google translation of the page.

    Quite interesting the details on the page... Not sure that £750 is quid is THAT good anymore for a budget 32" LCD... And to be honest, it looks pretty damn fugly... :eek:
     
  3. npd

    npd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought it seemed quite reasonable - compared to the 32" Video7, which is around £850 plus delivery on ebuyer.

    My concerns are PQ and lack of component inputs. It also doesn't mention progressive scan, or is that taken for granted?
     
  4. DaveP

    DaveP
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure what this means entirely but it does mention component (YCrCb/YPrPb) and maybe p/i is progressive interlaced?

    Dave
     
  5. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Looks and sounds OK :smashin:
    Just hope the PQ is going to be top notch , it's only £151 more than the 27" Lcd they sold last year must be good Value :D
    Also Lidl had a 32" Targa lcd last year and that was £999


    I was looking to buy one of the 27" lcd's last year , so might go for one of these . Only thing with the 27 was the PQ and RGB sockets


    :thumbsup:
     
  6. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    My Tevion 27" is tops, onmce its setup with Avia and fed a good source thru decent cables, like any LCD/plasma, I get a very nice piccie indeed, decent blacks, no blurring, I am happy, may even get one of these for the dining room

    Taz
     
  7. azim

    azim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone got a link to the new offer from aldi??...i can only find the offers for 19th may!...on http://uk.aldi.com/
     
  8. Corelli

    Corelli
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Someone in the german forum made a phonecall to Medion/Tevion, and this is what they said:

    2x Scart
    1x DVI - I (VGA per Adapter possible)
    1x Component
    1x S-Video
    1x Composite
    1x Phones
    1x Line in
     
  9. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    Have a look back on the Aldi's website on friday and it will have been updated :smashin:
    I know as I have been checking there to see if they had anymore 27's in :D

    Yeah Taz69 also looking for the dinning room , so the PQ on the 27" lcd is good then . What about running games consoles ?


    :thumbsup:
     
  10. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    I run the Xbox via Component in Hi-Def, its excellent, no problems at all, crystal clear on the hi-def even upclose, via DVI or Component. I hope the 32" is as good if not better, shame it seems to only have 1 component connection not 2 like my 27" version


    Taz
     
  11. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37

    Thanx for the reply :smashin: , hope the PQ is Super Crisp

    I wonder why only 1 component connection and not 2 like the 27" , does it have other connections then :confused:
    2 components would have been better

    :D
     
  12. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    it does seem strange to upgrade and not build on the connections already offered.

    Taz
     
  13. OhPinchy

    OhPinchy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm thinking of getting this TV to display output from my Windows Media Center PC, which will be in another room. I will be running VGA cable from the WMC PC to the TV - will I be able to connect the VGA to this TV and what sort of quality picture can I expect?
     
  14. azim

    azim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It is on their website now..
    here are the specs
    30 quid for a wall bracket seems ok.
    looking at the specs above it seems..that component is inputted (is that a word?) via the scart!...didnt think scart worked like that?
    im seriously thinking of getting it anyway though..

    looking at the specs
    The advantages....

    1. 8ms response time
    2.hdcp enabled dvi (ill be using this for pc...dont know if it will do 1:1 pc resolution though)
    3. proper twin tuner (with excellent teletext features)
    4. 1000:1 contrast
    5. No postage charge..(for both buying and taking back when/if faulty..assuming u have an aldi close by ;-) )
    6. 2 RGB/component enabled scarts.
    7..BEST OF ALL----its got a 3 YEAR WARRANTY..as far as i know aldi are quite good with returning and warranty stuff(correct me if im wrong).

    Disadvantages

    1. component is input via the scart sockets (im not too sure on this one..will research it more)
    2.no reviews as of yet (at least i havnt found any yet)..so unknown PQ.
    3.no HDMI (although adaptors cost about15quid anyway)
    4.worst...in my opinion its UGLY...compared to others ive seen.


    ohhh yeah and nearly forgot its CHEAP.....think its the cheapest 32" lcd i have seen anywhere..including ebay.
     
  15. razorblade_kiss

    razorblade_kiss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I was wondering if anyone had a picture of some sort (or knows a link) for a view of what all the connections look like. I have seen this TV advertised but unlike all the others I have also seen advertised it doesn't have such a picture. I am not that well up on TV specs and stuff, so I was hoping to see a pic to get a fair idea of what it has.

    Also, has anyone else here come across this problem, when their LCD TV is connected to the ANT, they find that there is horizontal lines running up and down the screen, I have come across this problem numerous times and I could never seem to sort it out. Any ideas?

    Could someone tell me how to post a scan I have of a LCD TV specs so I can ask your advice on it? I am not sure how to do it.
     
  16. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Azim, where did you see it has 3yr warranty still, they normally splash it all over the page, lol

    Taz
     
  17. petebrady

    petebrady
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    From aldi's Irish mailout:
    [​IMG]

     
  18. Mat-Moo

    Mat-Moo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    766
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +6
  19. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    seeing as there is a wall mount available, it would be nice if we could remove the speaker box, lol, make it look prettier

    Taz
     
  20. woody67

    woody67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +13
    I don't care what anyone says about ... hasn't got this, can't do that, etc etc ...... £750 for a 32" LCD is an amazing deal at this moment in time.

    Is there really anything to discuss?
     
  21. ikisai

    ikisai
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Darlington
    Ratings:
    +0
    was literally going to buy a Sharp 26 inch tomorrow when i got the aldi mail, now i can't help but think 6 inches more for a £100 is tempting !!

    however no mention of D-sub connection for the PC which is what i use now, never tried a DVI-VGA adapter, anyone know if there is any quality loss !?!
     
  22. Puffer

    Puffer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It probably could look better on the eye,although apart from that if it has

    good PQ ? what can you say it must be an excellent buy at that price .

    Makes you wonder how some other brands can justify selling their sets

    aound £500 to over a £1000 more are they really that much better .
     
  23. snoods

    snoods
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kilwinning, North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK.
    Ratings:
    +32
  24. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
  25. snoods

    snoods
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Kilwinning, North Ayrshire, Scotland, UK.
    Ratings:
    +32
  26. azim

    azim
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    @taz the 3 year warranty is stated on bottom left of the picture of the tv in this link.... http://uk.aldi.com/special_buys/product_211.html
    @ snoods agreed 760quid is good price for the diboss...but i have found misco to always put down a lower price for items that are not in stock...and then up the price as soon as it comes back in stock (had a mate who wanted to buy a video7 from them he said they were priced i think 80quid cheaper than anyone else..but when he tried ordering when they came back in stock they had gone up by 100quid)..dont know what the situation would be if you ordered now and waqited for the back order.they may or mayNOT honour the price.
    saying that im torn between the diboss...and the tevion...
    the tevion wins on features..the diboss looks miles better.

    didna think choosing a telly could be soooooo hard.
     
  27. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    cheers Azim, found it in the end, lol, you could be right about Misco, the di-boss is £999 on Komplett.

    Taz
     
  28. EnglishJohn

    EnglishJohn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2001
    Messages:
    248
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +6
    i bought the diboss from Misco, says out of stock ordered it yesterday, getting delivered today via amtrak
     
  29. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +54
    Munkstar, when you get it can you confirm what connections it has and if its HD Ready

    Cheers
     
  30. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    941
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +37
    I was looking over the over the page for the 27" lcd which I found at home last night :confused: , there's one BIG thing missing from the new page fron the 32" lcd and that is this :

    No mention of Swap Pick Up and Return service :thumbsdow might not be that easy to Return / Replace the 32" lcd

    So is there only 1 component connection then :confused: as the page reads as there is 2 component & 2 RGB . Yeah would look a lot better with out the speaker box

    :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...