1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New aerial for freeview?

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by happyh, Oct 12, 2004.

  1. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,
    Just got a new Pan viera. I have sky , which is fine but as the tv has Freeview as standard I thought I might as well use it. My tv aerial is not up to the job. My local (trusty) fitter has quoted me to supply and install a Hi-gain aerial @ £150. I thought this was a bit steep.
    Any opinions?
    Thanks.
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,121
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    TBH I don'tthink £150 is too bad. I've seen quotes a lot higher than that.
    Yes you could buy an aerial and cable yourself for around £50 or less, but do you fancy climbing on your roof to fix it in place and then running the new cable? Then if anything goes wrong its down to you, where as the 'fitter' will offer a guarentee should the roof star leaking etc.

    Mark.
     
  3. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    If you are in a peripheral signal area, then a (possibly - depending on the transmitter) wideband, high gain aerial may well be required. I agree, it isn't a large sum, given

    a) that they have to bring ladders and climb to dizzy heights and to supply the aerial and cable and end points
    b) what you've spent on your equipment.

    On the other hand, if you are 20 miles, clear line of sight, from a major high-powered transmitter then any old aerial hung in the loft might suffice. If your contractor is a member of the trade association, he's probably offering you just what you need for reliable, glitch-free reception.
     
  4. tykent

    tykent
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2002
    Messages:
    486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Camberley, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +22
    That is not bad. I have just paid £250 for a new mast, high gain aerial, DAB aerial and FM to be fitted.
     
  5. happyh

    happyh
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northants Riviera
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks guys. I'll go with it.I didn't realise how tight I was!
    (Am in a poor reception area too)
     

Share This Page

Loading...