Networking A Humax 9200t

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by sawboman, Dec 19, 2006.

Tags:
  1. sawboman

    sawboman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently bought a 9200t, and have a couple of questions....

    1) Can you/how do you set the 9200t to series record?

    2)The distance between the humax and my PC is just over six metres, I cant get a USB cable long enough to connect to the PC. Therefore I am wondering if it would be possible to set up a wireless network and connect the humax to a wireless router. I have been thinking of doing such a thing for a while with my pc/laptop, but I really do not know too much about networking etc. so any help would be appreciated.

    If I have posted in the wrong area, please forgive me.

    Cheers
     
  2. crammedin

    crammedin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Crystal Palace TX
    Ratings:
    +83
    Hi.
    1) When you edit a timer there is an option field for the repeat mode. The default is Once only. But you can choose different options if it is a series like Daily, Weekly, Weekday and Weekend. You have more options with the most recent software. In the near future the machine will record a series without the need for static timers meaning if the next episode of your series in on at a slightly different time next week or even moved to a different channel, the PVR will know and not miss it. Thats the theory anyway.

    2) Its not possible to network the PVR but I suppose you could try 2 shorter USB cables instead of one long one with a cheap hub/repeater in the middle when needed.
     
  3. IanSimmons

    IanSimmons
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I had the same problem with my Topfield. I have purchased a series of USB 2.0 extender (repeater) cables that allow you to extend by quite a distance. I just wind it back up when it's not needed. I think you can daisy-chain up to about 25m. I can't remember what make - I am not at home, but maybe someone else can make a recommendation?
     
  4. Damon

    Damon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Croydon
    Ratings:
    +4
    The shorter the cable the better, you say you have a laptop, is it not possible to use this and just network the laptop to the PC?

    Damon
     
  5. sawboman

    sawboman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the comments/replies.

    I'll try the repeater usb cable extender route. I cannot use the laptop as it is a work laptop.

    Thanks,
    Dave
     
  6. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Just for info: it is possible to network the topfield which wasn't mention in the post above. USB is simpler though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...