Network Ethernet Cable Adaptor?

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Rhys89, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    Is it possible to get an adaptor so i can have 1 network cable going to my Xbox 360 and 1 for my LAN with another computer?

    I only have one port, any ideas?
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,476
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    You need what is known as a switch/hub, http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/60063 this one 5 ports, plug your lan into one and then plug the PC and Xbox into any of the other 4, you should have 2 spare.
     
  3. Rhys89

    Rhys89
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +2
    thanks a lot, i think this is exactly what i was looking for
     
  4. pressieshopping

    pressieshopping
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Will that work if I want to split my cable broadband connection into 2 also?

    i.e. I have a NTL/Virgin modem with 1 ethernet port but I want to split this into 2 so I can plug my wifi modem and another ethernet cable and still get BB down both cables?!!

    (idea being the wifi keeps crashing out when i use newsgroups so I want to use the cable directly from the modem to 1 computer for newsgroups but allow wifi to work for the other computer in the house)

    thanks!
     
  5. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    I would have thought that you want a "cable compatible" (wired or wireless with the wireless feature turned off) router for the hardwired connection to the PC.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  6. pressieshopping

    pressieshopping
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Chris

    I'm not sure what you mean about getting a router for the hardwired connection- the problem is I have 1 port on my cable modem and I want 2!!
    I want a connection to my wifi router and I want a connection to my laptop directly using a LAN cable!

    SO I'm confused by your suggestion :confused::confused:!!!
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +763
    Our cable modem goes to a Linksys BEFSR41 router/switch combo box.
    The cable modem is connected to its WAN port and 2 PCs are connected to its LAN ports.
    You can do the same sort of thing.
    Your WiFi router can connect to one LAN port, your laptop can use another of its LAN ports.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester
     
  8. pressieshopping

    pressieshopping
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2006
    Messages:
    29
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    AHHH now I get you!!

    Thanks :)

    Will any switch do- (as mentioned above -http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/60063 - or does it have to be similar to your linksys switch-router?!
     

Share This Page

Loading...