netgear unsecure

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by fizzgog, Dec 21, 2006.

  1. fizzgog

    fizzgog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    wirral
    Ratings:
    +111
    hi guys. can somebody tell me how to secure my netgear router/home network?

    i have network magic but it says that my router is unsecure and won't let me do anything about it.
    thanx for your time
    pete
     
  2. rimibar

    rimibar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2003
    Messages:
    465
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +10
    Check the manual, work out what the IP address of your router is - login with the username and password specified by your manual and then look in these settings for the security elements. Look for WEP, WPA, or you can restrict access to access devices by MAC address (a unique identifier to every machine you have be it a PC, console, PSP, phone or other).

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. fizzgog

    fizzgog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    wirral
    Ratings:
    +111
    hi rimibar, thanx for the response. i have no manual or installation CD:eek: because i bought it a while ago off the dreaded ebay.

    i can get to the place where it asks me to login and have got the ip address - is there another way for me to find the username/password?
    ps it is a netgear WGR614 version 1

    thanx again
    pete
     
  4. sammy4499771

    sammy4499771
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +93
    try these default codes;

    name:admin
    password: password

    they might help you get into the settings
     
  5. fizzgog

    fizzgog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    wirral
    Ratings:
    +111
    thanx Sammy, i have secured the router using WEP but now my wii cannot connect to the router.

    should i speak about this in the wii forum?
    or can someone here help
    pete
     
  6. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Start with no security enabled on any of your wireless devices. Then add WEP security to each device. Check to see if everything works. All ok? Then change from WEP to WPA. Then slowly work your way upto WPA2.
     
  7. fizzgog

    fizzgog
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,304
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    wirral
    Ratings:
    +111

    hi Singh, thanx for the reply. the only wireless device i have at the moment is the wii. it was fine with no WEP but will not connect now - as soon as WEP was enabled.

    [edit] i have now sorted it. i never told my router what mac address the wii had. once i did this it connected with WEP on. thanx again
    pete
     

Share This Page

Loading...