• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Netgear DGN1000

badwolf

Standard Member
Hello all

I have just spoken to my ISP (Firefly) about switching from my current 1MB broadband package to a higher speed package at around 7MB.

I am wanting to stream HD and SD movies, music etc from my Windows 7 PC upstairs to my HD ready TV downstairs. We are also going to buy a couple of ipod touches. I bought my PC from Chillblast in January and it has a bluray drive and a 300Mbps 802.11n wireless adaptor.

I currently have a wired Hitachi AH4051 modem and my ISP has said they could provide me with a Netgear DGN1000 preconfigured with my log in details for £60 , but I would still need to configure my wifi details, as I am not technically savvy with modern kit!

I am tied in with my ISP until the end of January. The basic up to 8meg package would include 5GB data transfer.

My question is the DGN1000 capable enough for what I want, or could I do better? Is 5GB enough or would it be better to go for their more expensive 30GB package?

How easy is it to configure a wireless modem router?

Thanks for any input!

themediaman

internet speed doesnt effect the speed of your local network.........most devices operate at fast ethernt speeds (100Mbits).......

a wired connection is best/essential for HD stuff, so home plugs are an option....

are you wanting to put a bluray into your pc and then stream the video across the network......?

thats a bit different than accessing a video file from a DLNA device.......

the router would be sufficient, to move information around at least, but as i say HD content over the air is dodgy......

and most routers are for the most part plug and play..........

what TV is upstairs, and is it DLNA certified.............

badwolf

Standard Member