neo geo on a plasma?

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by scotty78, Dec 31, 2006.

  1. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi all thinking about getting a neo geo consolized mvs and was wondering if anyone used there neo with a plasma? I read somewhere about someone using there neo with a 40" lcd and the picture looked crap so before i buy one to go with my plasma I thought id ask yr views


    cheers
     
  2. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    cmon guys some of u retro gamers must have the class to own a neo :rotfl:
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +47
    MAME Via VGA to your Plasma is the way forward
     
  4. dan653

    dan653
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,287
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    nr Stonehenge
    Ratings:
    +49
    or final burn alpha xxx (fbaxxx) for specifically csp1/2 and neo geo
     
  5. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    thanks guys will look in to it
     
  6. Soundwave

    Soundwave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Basildon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,452
  7. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Soundwave yeh mate id like to buy or build one 2, just joined neo geo.com and also had a look at some of they sweet systems by kpj, pricey stuff tho it does look well impressive, ive seen some cmvs in the uk that use rgb scart and im not really sure how much better quality going to component would be, would def make the conversion more complicated tho I got to say I cant find a step by step guide on actually doing the conversion....oh and ive never used a soldering iron in my life :cool: so if I could find one at a decent price it would prob be a safer idea lol
     
  8. Soundwave

    Soundwave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Basildon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,452
    Just keep an eye on the Neo Geo forums for sale board normally some really good deals come up on there.

    In theory RGB Scart would be the easiest option & like you said I dont think you'd notice a huge drop in PQ.

    The other option of course is buying a Supergun & MVS M/board the added bonus of that being you have access to a whole raft of other arcade PCB's to play although they are quite possibly THE ugliest way of playing any games EVER.

    Also dont forget that SNK also made the Neo Geo in CD format which is another VERY cheap way of getting into Neo Geo gaming with most games not costing much more than £30-£40 only downside here is the obscenley long load times on some games.

    And finally it also possible to run all Neo Geo CD games straight from the original game CD on a softmodded X-box with the help of an Emulator.

    Some more options there for you as well.

    HTH

    Neil
     
  9. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Soundwave yeh mate I discounted the neo cd due to the load times, I was planning on going for a 2 slot and a supergun just so I could play it until I had the guts to attempt modding it, no need now though just got a 4 slot cmvs rgb scart over ebay so looks like im sorted for now, until I want to add that unibios that is! anyway mate it wont be here for a week or so as its coming from Germany but I will let u know how the scart connection works out
     
  10. Soundwave

    Soundwave
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    7,429
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Basildon, Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,452
    Oh so your the Scotty over on NTSC-UK then ;)

    Looks like a good deal you get there for the 4 slot :)
    What sticks & that did you get??
    Also how much if you dont mind me asking??

    I'm in two minds at the moment wether to buy myself either a cosolized one slot from KPJ or off the Neo-Geo Forums or being the worlds kindest brother & my buying my bro an Asian 360.

    I'm leaning to being really selfish & getting the MVS but I dont know yet.

    You'll have to let me know how you get on with it.

    Neil
     
  11. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi Soundwave sent u a pm mate
     
  12. lovergoat

    lovergoat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I ran my AES through RGB to an LCD with a native resolution of 1280x768.

    It looked perfectly sharp and clear with bright non bleeding colours. My Neo does have a very low serial so the RGB output is the best possible. A component lead couldn't improve on that. RGB does just fine at that resolution. Had loads of the jaggies but that's only to be expected from a machine with such a low res.
     
  13. scotty78

    scotty78
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    618
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hey Lovergoat hopefully mine will work well, how bad were the jaggies?
     
  14. MadMaelstrom

    MadMaelstrom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,819
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +164
    Im gonna dig my AES out in the next week or so and hook up to my Plasma, been meaning to do it for ages but just haven't had the time and space on the rack really.
    Did download some of the Neo games on the Wii, but it's just not the same.
    Also need to get my Pulstar cart out of my garage, its new and still sealed so dont want to risk ruining it
     

Share This Page

Loading...