Needing some HIFI Help

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by Blueflash123, Dec 3, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Blueflash123

Blueflash123
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello there, I am very new to the HIFI world in terms of equipment, I super enjoy my music and have been wanting to step more onto a speaker setup with possibly a subwoofer if needed Im trying to find some speakers including amp if needed for around £300 that has good enough bass, I listen to all different kinds of music but mostly Indie and Dance(ish) so would be needing that bass but Im after more of a clean and punchy bass rather than a boomy bass and I was wanting the speakers to be pretty clean like studio monitors as I like a very clean sound so I was wondering what would be the best for me around £300? I tried looking around and came to the Yamaha HS7 Studio Monitors but figured it would be way too "Flat" for my liking and it seems to not offer the bass I wanted the second option I looked at was the "Wharfedale 9.1 Diamond" but it would require me to get an amp,

Advice would be much appreciated thank you!.

2. Paul7777x

Paul7777x

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    The Yamaha’s will have easily ‘enough’ bass for you and, being a proper active speaker, the bass will not bloat or hang. It will be tuneful and quick.

The 9.1s are good speakers but will not be comparable to the HS7s

It’s a myth that dance music requires loads of bass. It actually requires just enough bass and for that bass to be fast, NOT bloated, and able to follow the rhythm without overhang spoiling it.

That said, the Yamaha’s have the capacity for variable bass via preferences on the rear panel.

But you don’t say what you will use to drive the speakers?

You’ll need a preamp of some sort, or an integrated amp with preouts.