Needing a 19"-26" LCD - Please Help!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by djmetsandy, Apr 25, 2007.

Tags:
  1. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Right guys, the missus has bought herself a new xbox 360 and needs a new tv.

    She is looking for a 19" to 26" LCD, HD Ready, TV for between £200-£300. The TV does not have to have a DVI port, preferably have a HDMI port but not 100% necessary.

    Can you please assist her to the cheapest and best place to buy one from?:confused:

    Thanks in advance! :thumbsup:
     
  2. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
  3. jason g

    jason g
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    16,068
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Theatre Of Dreams.
    Ratings:
    +3,784
    what is it with these women nowadays?
    maybe they are tired of the soaps, seems all they want to do is play on games.
    they even have thee own thread on the 360 live thread.

    only tv ive heard of really is the samsung 26 inch which is supposed to be ok.
     
  4. jezzer256

    jezzer256
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,879
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +164
    The Samsung may be a bit out of your price range - £399.99 from play.com, here. With that budget I think you're gonna have to go with an unknown brand model, such as that one you linked to.

    Jezzer
     
  5. kati3

    kati3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    462
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +26
  6. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks ppl! I don't mind myself having a unknown brand name as I have a Haier 32" LCD which I bought nearly 2 years ago for £600, but it's up to the missus..

    I will show her the samsung and see what she says! It is a little too much as thats nearly half her wage gone in a day...

    :confused:
     
  7. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    The missus found this one...

    GOODMANS LD1930W

    it doesnt have 1080HD so i guess runs at 720 then??

    its only £199!

    or this one off ebay for £270 inc

    Acoustic LCD26NK750HD
     
  8. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    please help
     
  9. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    still need help...:lease:
     
  10. shrekmonster

    shrekmonster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
  11. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    The AOC one sounds good! thanks!

    but i'll keep asking so i can have a choice...

    what she needs is:

    preferably a 26", with composite for xbox 360 or VGA port (or recommend another way that she can use the HD.

    must be between £200-£400.
     
  12. rondha

    rondha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +40
    You can get 32" with that money.

    Do advance search on this forums for threads with title containing Hannspree or Mirai or Orion. Some people said that they are the same quality as Sony.

    Below some pics of Hannspree:
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4626279#post4626279

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4561070#post4561070

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4437832#post4437832

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4475772#post4475772

    _

    IMHO don't buy from eBay due to warranty procedures and lack of trading legal binding on auction.
     
  13. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Thanks very much! do they do a 26" as I brought my 32" here and its too big for the room! I think a 26" would fit nicely!
     
  14. m1cvv

    m1cvv
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Mate, ive just bought the AOC 27" friom Intekz, hopefully will have it in a few days, i will be running a Wii off it, however i will test my mates 360 also and give you a bit feedback....im very new to this (1st post infact) however ive read thru loadsa threads, reviews and think the AOC could be the best choice for a smaller room!

    Mikey
     
  15. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    Ok thanks mate! Can't wait to hear! There are so many TV's in the market its hard to choose!

    The one I am keeping an eye on is the LG 32LX2R and 26LX2R but for some reason the 26LX2R is more expensive?!
     
  16. m1cvv

    m1cvv
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Matey,

    Defo Defo Defo get yourself the AOC, and if you can get it from Intekz, i ordered mine last sunday, it arrived on tuesday, its beautiful!!

    picture with v+ (on virgin only 1 main hd chan plus some hd content stored on the box) via the hdmi is superb.

    have my dvd via scart and that looks great.

    laptop connected up looks good, i never really use the net at home to be honest so wasnt really bothered, however it is fine.

    wii connected thru RGB and its amazing.

    360 will be tested over the weekend and i will report back but so far so very very very good AOC all the way!!
     
  17. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    how'd u get on with the 360?
     
  18. Tommy Vercetti

    Tommy Vercetti
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Does that AOC come with VGA/DVI ports?
     
  19. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
  20. kayum

    kayum

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    apparently there's something dodgy about the aspect ration on this tv??
     
  21. KaTz

    KaTz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope. for a 27incher its aspect ratio is the same as all other 27 inchers. go check it out.
    im lookin at this same aoc too.
    but wanna use for pc also.
    is 27" too big for a monitor??
     
  22. djmetsandy

    djmetsandy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    947
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Perth, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +35
    No I use a 32" LCD screen as a monitor and it is amazing through DVI.
     

Share This Page

Loading...