Needed: DVD HDD recorder for SKY

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by mrbumps, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. mrbumps

    mrbumps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi all,

    I have recently had sky installed and decided now is the time to buy a new DVD recorder. I want one that has an HDD and can auto switch the channels on my sky box.

    Can anyone recommend anything? Budget £100 - £200 (unless that is just wishful thinking ;) )

    Steve
     
  2. mrbumps

    mrbumps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Ok I have found out that this is called A/V Synchro or STB Synchro REC (at least in the Sony world)

    Does anyone else provide this functionality? Are there other names for it?

    Any help would be welcomed.

    Steve
     
  3. RAB67

    RAB67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    Panasonic has Ext Link – But these things work the other way round.

    You use Autoview on the Skybox and the DVDR senses this and starts to record.

    It works, but I stopped using it as

    • It works through the SCART so no RGB – you only get composite.
    • TV channels can be +/- 2 mins wrt the Skybox clock.
    So now I just use autoview on the programme before the one I want, and use the DVDR timer as usual.

    You will need a DVDR with an external IR gadget to really change the sky channel.
     
  4. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,098
    It is possible to use the TV output of the skybox [ i.e. RGB ] and use the Ext Link Mode 2 of the Panasonic DVDR.
     
  5. mrbumps

    mrbumps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    This sounds like the right approach. Looking at the Panasonic DMREZ25EBS it does not list it in the specs. Anyone have one and know if it does have this?

    Steve
     
  6. RAB67

    RAB67
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    We have had this conversation before! I admit I never did get Mode 2 working:) . All I did was prove to myself that the video SCART of a skybox didn't do RGB.

    Perhaps I'll have another go.

    :arty:
     
  7. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,098
    Yes - See the bottom of page 44 of the UK manual.

    Also see posts 2 and 3 of this thread for connection regimes. It applies to the EZ25 as well as the machine being discussed there:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=418727
     
  8. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,098
    Forgive me for not realising. I deal with this issue on a regular basis :)

    Admittedly, it has proved a flakey business getting the units to work like this reliably ... [ I do not have Sky so have no direct experience of this myself ], especially on consecutive programmes - but I gather that it is an issue of the Skybox that is the problem... Not the Panasonic DVDR or the link between them.

    Good luck if you do have another go.
    The link I've given in the post above may be of use.
     
  9. liverpoolee

    liverpoolee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3

    begs the question mate,why not get sky+ then there would be no need for a recorder.
     
  10. mrbumps

    mrbumps
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Simple answer. I am opposed to paying £10 per month just so I can press the record button and I want a DVD recorder for portability of recorded media. :)
     
  11. Gavtech

    Gavtech
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21,158
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +7,098
    I daresay there are two possible answers to that.

    Sky+ means paying even more into Mr Rupert's coffers, and sky+ is not an archiving device.
     
  12. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    go HD and get the + included free now :D

    oh and it could be used as an archiving device of a sort....you just need to swap out the HDD's.....however it does mean you need to use the same model of Sky box to watch them in future...which might be a problem 3 years down the line....heh
     
  13. liverpoolee

    liverpoolee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    i hate the fact that murdoch get's my money but it's outweighed by the fact that i think my sky hd box is the best invention man has ever came up with(apart from beer).
     
  14. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    personally i couldnt give a monkeys if some guy is getting rich, my sky+ box does everything i need it to and has resurrected my enjoyment of TV.....tbh for the money its actually a good bargain for me and my parents, if i was living on my own it would be a little more expensive and would need careful consideration, but for two people or more using it i think its brilliant value....
     

Share This Page

Loading...