1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Urgent Advice

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Selayan, Dec 3, 2004.

1. Selayan

Selayan

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys I'm new to this video editing thing, Well I have a project to do for my english class and we have to make a video parady of a play called The Crucible and my group and I want to make it look like Saturday Night Live and take the part out where at the begining of the show the actor comes out infront of the band on stage and announces wat is gona be on tonight's SNL, but instead of the guy we want to use ourselves in the picture. But first of all I need to know what kind of camcorder I need and what program I need to edit the vidoe we will shoot and then add the logo and some other stuff like colors and maybe like other print on the bottom of the screen. I have no clue what to do and I was hoping you guys could help me out. The project is due in like 2 weeks and I havent even goten a camera cuz I duno which kind, we need, but we need one that is able to be connected to the pc, and able to edit the video wit what I want and then play the video on a VCR.

2. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,389
    OK well the easy bit is the camcorder as any DV cam will be able to transfer the footage to a PC.

As for the PC, well you will need a firewire port (aka iLink, ieee1394 or DV port). You then need a 4 pin to 6 pin firewire cable to connect the cam to the port. If the PC does not have firewire then you can add the port for about £10 and this should include the cable. If you already have the port but not a cable then that will cost almost as much as both above.