1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need upgrade advice

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Lenzz, May 12, 2005.

1. Lenzz

Lenzz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys

I want to upgrade from my EIKI LC-7000 that I got on ebay for £250. The low contrast ratio of 100:1 is really getting on my nerves. What would you recommend for around £500? I’m sure questions like this get asked all the time but I’m a total amateur and haven’t got a clue and could really use some advice.

Thanks
    Lenzz

2. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +563
    Toshiba ET1
    Epson TW10H
    Benq 5120

I'm presuming you want a 16:9 aspect ratio (ie widescreen to watch DVDs).

100:1 is seriously low contrast, you're in for a treat!...PJ :)

3. Lenzz

Lenzz
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the replay. Witch one of those would be the superior or are they all roughly similar.

4. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +563
    Not seen any of them in action.

If it were me I'd be auditioning the 5120 first...PJ

5. Gary Lightfoot

Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,119
    I agree with PJ regarding the Benq, but I saw a Targa DLP 854 x 480 pj from Lidl yesterday (a mate bought one and we had a look at it in my cinema room), and that was pretty good for £500. Not having seen the Benq I can't say what is better but I would think the Benq would have the edge.

Gary.

6. PJTX100

PJTX100

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +563
    Is the Targa the one which has optical lens shift? If so how effective was it?

...PJ

7. Maff et1

Maff et1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0