• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Need to upscale an HD image

pugwash4x4

Standard Member
Hi Guys,

First post here, hope you can be of help.

I'm a commercial installer of projection equipment into the retail market. Usually do smaller installs along with a fair few edge blend installs (using both onboard Panasonic stuff and relevant external solutions). Usually we would be bought on board at the start of a project and would work with a production studio to show large images in natvie resolutions as produced by the aforementioned production studio.

Have a new customer who have lost faith in their current installer and is looking to do a siginificant install.

Have specced a 4 HD projector edge blend (arrange in a square)- no probs, nice and easy. Customer phones me today to say that they only have a normal HD image and their production unit in Dubai have no idea how to upscale it!

So, can you guys help? how do i upscale the standard 1920 x 1080 res image to 3840x2160? (lets ignore the 10% we'll lose on edge blending- i can deal with that later). There must be a box that can do it?

any help and advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Pugwash

NonPayingMember

Previously Liam @ Prog AV
You need a dedicated edge-blending unit to do this properley. Barco do one, I think TVOne probably do one, not sure that Extron or Kramer do. It's not really my forte especially four screens. But I know I wouldn't want to be leaving a customer of this calibre with his 8mp display relying soley on Windows to work!!!