Need to lose a lot of weight but need tips.

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by TheAdmiralCS, Aug 6, 2013.

1. TheAdmiralCS

TheAdmiralCS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,230
    Hi all

After reading through some of these threads for inspiration, I'm just after your tips to get myself weighing less and feeling better.

Basically, I weigh FAAAAAR too much (a tad over 20st) and need to lose a fair "chunk" of that. I'm not in a rush to do it, need to do it healthily but some stumbling blocks are:
    I do not have the cash for gym or other external get fit things, or indeed fancy foods.
    I work in IT, sat at desk most of the day.
    Have very little "motivation" apart from I want to lose the weight.
    Can't run very well as it starts to hurt knees after a while (as I reckon it would weighing as much as I do) but walking is not an issue for a good distance (5 miles is not out of the question).

Good points:
    Have 2 dogs, want to start walking them (wife currently does it) when I get home and kiddies are in bed, around 7ish.
    It's possible for me to get the train to work and walk in to the office (2 miles or so) 2/3 days a week.
    We have an exercise bike at home, electric powered with a mini computer on that sets you some programs etc - I tried the fat burning one, knackered me for the 30 minutes I managed and kinda put me off it(15km).

I have read about the 5/2 diet, or fasting for 16 hours and whathaveyou, but I need real experiences from you guys and some advice on where I start.
    Help me AVF, you really are my only hope!

Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  2. Foster

Foster
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7,088