1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need to know which? Vobs,iso or ifo for playback from hard disc (dvd decrypter)

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by schillaci0, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. schillaci0

    schillaci0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Starting to get where I want to be
    Ratings:
    +14
    can anybody help with the title question :lease:
     
  2. bartp

    bartp
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i am happy with full iso images and deamon tools to mount them. good for mce "my movies" and backing up. If you can afford hdd space.
     
  3. CTID

    CTID
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2003
    Messages:
    735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Far, Far Away
    Ratings:
    +16
    I agree with bartp. Much, much simplier to iso them and use daemon tools to mount the image. Powerdvd then sees the mounted drive as another dvd drive.
     
  4. stuartmc

    stuartmc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    203
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you are using it with "My Movies" in MCE 2005 the VOB option is the easiest. Don't need to worry about Daemon Tools. Just DVD Decrypt the VOBs to disk and play drectly within My Movies.
     
  5. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    The one nice thing about using ISOs is that with something like AnyDVD you can automatically change the refresh rate based on the type of disk it is (PAL or NTSC) when you mount it.

    Using TheaterTek it's easy to open a .IFO using File Associations, does this not work with MCE?
     
  6. schillaci0

    schillaci0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Starting to get where I want to be
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for the replys, will be using a pinnacle showcentre as the interface in the lounge so based on this what is the best solution as the files,vobs or iso,ifo's willbe linked with their program and then played back
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    No idea about Showcentre I'm afraid, I don't use that type of application. IFOs/VOBs are easier to use as long as you can open them within the application, if you're double-clicking then either works much the same.
     
  8. schillaci0

    schillaci0
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Starting to get where I want to be
    Ratings:
    +14
    Any one else know about pinnacle showcentre and ripped dvd files
     
  9. dazzer123

    dazzer123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    Ratings:
    +3
    I tried Pinnacle media center and that would recognize vobs but not ifo files which I found very annoying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...