1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Sony DVR-PC4E camcorder advice!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by t@xman, May 10, 2004.

1. t@xman

t@xman

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    I'm a total novice on this and just purchased my 1st camcorder - a 2nd hand Sony DVR-PC4E. Now I don't really know a lot about camcorders and was hoping you guys could help me out a tad with the following questions......sorry if their a bit basic, but I've been reading all night and everything I read seems to assume a certain level of competance before you start!
    1. Is this cam any good? I've read spec sheets and the like, but I can't find a proper review anywhere!
    2. I believe it has a firewire port, so does this mean I can transfer my recordings direct to my PC via firewire or will I still need a capture card?
    3. If 2 is correct, then is there any degredation in image quality by using firewire?
    4. I'm off for a wedding in South Africa at xmas, so will the heat be a problem, and if so then in what way?
    5. I'm hoping to burn my recordings to DVD, so would this be a matter of recording in AVI and then converting to MPEG when it's on the PC?

2. Mylesr

Mylesr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I can't help on how your camera performs but from the tech sheets, it does have firewire out (only). If you have a firewire port on your pc then you can capture with whichever software you chose (the advice on this forum is stacked with it! just pick a thread).
    Because of the way dv is recorded to tape (ones and zeros), a copy via firewire is an exact copy so no degredation!