Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Need some help please..

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Bigmonty69, Jan 17, 2004.

  1. Bigmonty69

    Bigmonty69
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +73
    Posted this in the cables forum but got no response.

    I'm told you can connect a DVD player (component output) to the VGA input on a Panny 6.

    I have scoured these forums and various online retailers of cables and cannot find the prooper cable. I think it is a 3 RCA(or BNC) to 15 pin D-sub (VGA) cable. Which will enable me to connect a Jamo DVR50 to a PW6 Panasonic via component input.

    I seem only to be able to find a 5RCA/BNC to VGA cable from AV Sales which I presume will not work.

    Can anyone plz tell me if this is the proper cable for a start and if so where to buy it?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +284
  3. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you'd be better to buy the component input board for the plasma and a component to component cable.
     
  4. Bigmonty69

    Bigmonty69
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +73
    I was told it actually doesn't make a difference????

    It works out cheaper to get just the cable rather than the input board and the cable.

    Can someone please confirm this before I go ahead and purchase just the cable?

    Many thanks.
     
  5. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +115
  6. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +115
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    and in answer to bobbypunk, no it makes no difference which input you use, you only need worry about a YUV card if you want to connect a PC at the same time. Even then you can buy another vga card.
     
  8. Bigmonty69

    Bigmonty69
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +73
    Thanks for the repsonses, they, along with Joe@TMF have been very helpful.

    Incidently, if I wanted to buy another terminal board, say either VGA or Component, at some point, where is the best/cheapest place to buy them?

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice