1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need some guidance!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by boozydoo, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. boozydoo

    boozydoo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Please could some of you knowledgeable guys give me a little help. I'm after a plasma, max size 37", display only (the wife has spoken!) - i'll feed it with my SKY box, etc. I have around 2.5k to spend (hopefully including the wall braket etc). Screen is to be wall mounted. My main questions are:

    a) First hand recommendations of screen for this price
    b) What peripherals i could do with getting (scart switch box/media box/line doubler?)
    c) A good source for both well priced gear and expert advice (i'd rather not buy from Unbeatable etc.
    d) I'm going to hide all my cabling in the walls, need to make sure everything is done right first time! Do i only need to run component cables to the screen (plus power) or must i also run a VGA cable now to connect my computer?
    e) My equipment will all be in another room, can anyone recommend a remote relayer?

    I'd like to order this week!

    Many thanks for your help.

    Jon
     
  2. boozydoo

    boozydoo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    33 views and no advice :confused:

    i realise i had alot of questions, any help would be much appreciated though!

    thanks,

    Jon
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You're right it's a lot of questions, it's a 2 hour consultation to go through that lot! It can all be done, you will want that VGA cable, not just for PC. Go see a specialist retailer, JL or web dealer is no good for you, we can recommend you one if you'll give us your favourite county
     
  4. boozydoo

    boozydoo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers MAW,

    I live in York, but the problem is that the 'specialist' AV places around here are VERY expensive, and have only certain lines/manufacturers that they use. I need to speak to someone who knows their stuff, but is reasonably priced. Either that or get an educated shopping list from kind people on this site, then just shop around for the best deals.
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Try starting with a bargain Panny 37PW5, going cheap now.
     
  6. boozydoo

    boozydoo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great,

    That's the most important thing, i have seen some good deals, just haven't seen one in the flesh. I have heard many great things on this site about the Panny.

    What else do i need though? A VGA cable to an RGB convertor? An RGB SCART switch box for all my equipment to feed the convertor? Do i not need to feed the screen with anything other than VGA?

    So far list is:

    1) Panny 37PW5

    I have seen mention that the JS RGB to VGA convertor is a must. Is this device pretty much the same thing?:

    http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/product/technical.asp?dept_id=101&sku=592




    Please help my list grow!

    :)
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The lecktropaks is the ford, the www.rgbtosvideo.co.uk device is the mercedes. Got a surround amp? does it switch component video? does your DVD do component? If so use a RGB to component converter, switched with your amp, bung in a s-video lead too as insurance. Then the vga will be PC, s-video is just spare, get a component output for your console, if you need VHS tape get an s-vhs recorder, and that should do it. If no component switching, you use rgb-vga for sky, and scart pass through for a basic DVD, but put in the component cable for when you upgrade. It's not black and white though, needs thinking through.
     
  8. boozydoo

    boozydoo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Many thanks again MAW for your patience!

    I have now updated my order list with your 'mercedes'!

    I have been into home cinema for years, currently have the Keff Eggs (2 years now) and my amp is a Pioneer VSA-EO7, DVD is Pioneer DV717. All this gear was well rated when i bought it, but it's growing a little long in the tooth now, so i'm back on the upgrade trail! Long and short of it is that amp has no component input (S-vid only) and DVD has no component output! So i'm shafted at both ends! Unfortunately my budget won't stretch to new amp and DVD at the moment, so i need another solution.

    Can you get VGA wall plates, for a tidy job?

    I think I'll loop the RGB scart from DVD through Sky, output in RGB scart to the JS technology scart to VGA converter and VGA to display. I'll pop in an S-Vid, run it to the S-Vid outpuut on my amp and connect my VCR to the amp via a scart to S-vid lead. Should be sorted then!

    I have a digi sender for transmitting to my bedroom. Currently this piggy backs the output from my sky box (dvd loop through). Will this degrade the signal quality to the plasma?

    I can see the light at the end of the tunnel!
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Use a composite video breakout scart to get video to the sender, this can come from the VCR scart, there is a quality issue but you'll have to live with it, it's not that serious. Unless your vcr is an s-vhs you will only get a B/W picture with that lead, but fear not, check www.keene.co.uk and look for a composite to s-video adapter, this will sort the problem, or you could just use a composite signal, with a vcr it's as good as it gets anyway. You could stick a composite cable in the wall for completeness, it's agood idea in case your sky or dvd lose their settings and revert to composite. Then you can see the menu to turn RGB back on! You can't have s-video and composite physically connected to a panasonic at the same time, but you can tuck the unused cable behind the screen somewhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...