Need new speakers...

instigator

Hi, I'm new to home theater stuff but as a musician I've been enjoying stereo music on a Cambridge Audio A5 and Mission 701 speakers...

They are like 9 years old...

I bought a mission m2s 5.1 speaker set off eBay for like 50 quid as I wanted to experiment with mixing in surround sound as my mixing desk has 7 analogue audio outs so I could feed an old analogue surround amp...

Finally got a Denon avr 3802 amp from a forum member...

What I have now realized is that I've got a ton more detail and clarity using the new gear... Tonight I plugged the old Mission 701s into the Denon 3802 and they still sounded wooly and less detailed and dynamic and exciting and balanced than the tiny Mission M2s speakers...

Ive just got a cheap Denon 1610 5.1 amp for the lounge to work with appletv 2 and also to listen back to my surround mixes in a more relaxed environment...

So, instead of buying new cheap speakers for the lounge I thought what about getting a new bookshelf speaker set and center speaker for the music room and put my old mission 701 set and the m2s center and left and right into the lounge... And then save money to get another sub...

From what I have read so far speakers like the Wharfedale Diamond 9.1 or Cambridge Audio S30 might do the trick?

Can anyone recommend a moderately priced center speaker or another bookshelf speaker that could be an improvement?

I should mention the lounge is about the size of a medium to small double bedroom, it's tiny and when the Denon 3802 and Mission M2S 5.1 setup was in there it was positively thunderous and exhilarating... It's now in the music room which is about 3x bigger and it still sounds fantastic but it has lost a bit of the knocking me off my chair it's so thunderous but again it's still very detailed and exciting...

Thanks in advance...

Last edited:

instigator

Well I went ahead and ordered the Wharfedale Diamond 9.1's for 99 quid from superfi...