1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by MacTechsUK, Oct 10, 2005.

1. MacTechsUK

MacTechsUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    As a hopeless newbie I am trying to find a reasonable set of speakers to match the new receiver I have ordered, a Pioneer VSX-AX2AV-S.
    I have three issues
    1) it is quite high powered at 7x170w and I don't want to nuke any shiny new speakers I buy.
    2) cash, or the lack of it. I have a budget of £500 at the most.
    3) Size and style - Wifey wants something small and nice to go with the PDP-436XDE plasma

Can you knowledgeable bunch suggest a solution please?

MacTechsUK

2. MacTechsUK

MacTechsUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    I don't want to appear rude but what you are suggesting is a hopeless mismatch. You are intending to partner a fairly high powered mid priced amplifier with some comparatively cheap lifestyle speakers whereas the amp deserves far better.

I don't know much about speakers in that price range but would suggest that you have a look and see what Richer Sounds have to offer.

4. Cable Monkey

Cable Monkey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +205
    As Ian said above, there does seem to be mismatch in your thinking, though I know what it is to have budgets and appearance requirements thrust upon you! I would suggest the Mordaunt Short Premier plus system as detailed here because it looks good and will sound pretty good too once setup. They are only rated upto 80 watts though indicating the fact that they are not really in the same league as your amp. The system you point to is a huge compromise on quality for appearance, and don't be fooled by the power rating stated for the satellites.