Need help with yamaha rxv371 please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Dannybutch, Jan 2, 2012.

Tags:
  1. Dannybutch

Dannybutch
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi all, bought this today with nsp40 speakers and was just wondering if anyone could help me to find out if its running in hd! I am a clmplete noob so please treat me that way! It just says pcm or straight,no mention of dts hd or anything! Thanks guys, Dan

2. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10,371
    You need to input an HD audio source such as a Blu-ray and choose an HD audio option from the discs menu. HD audio isn't something you turn on and the media you are playing has to be encoded with it. You also need to ensure your Blu-ray's HDMI audio output setting is set to BITSTREAM in order for the HD formats type to be displayed on the amp. BITSTREAM sends the audio encode and PCM lets the player decode it before sending it as PCM. Also ensure to turn off any mix down settings on the player.

3. Dannybutch

Dannybutch
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks for your reply,im playing it on a slimline ps3 and its jurassic park blu ray! Im really new to all this so havent really got a clue what im doing! I press the surround decode button and all it says is straight,i just dont know how to get it to say dts hd,i just wanna check that its running the best it can

4. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10,371
    STRAIGHT allows the native format to play without additional signal processing. Leave the amp like this for now (until you've read the manual to determine what all the settings do) and press INFO on the remote until the display says "Audio Decoder". The display will now change and show you the audio format that is coming into your amp.