1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need help with speakers for A11SR

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by Pack Dude, Feb 6, 2002.

1. Pack Dude

Pack Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +98
    I am a bit of a newbie to all this stuff but decided to jump into the deep end and buy a Denon AVR-A11SR amp.
    As for speakers I don’t really have a clue. I do have a pair of old Tannoy 611’s which to me sound good but I have not heard any newer speakers and where I live I can’t audition any.
    So my questions are. Should I keep the Tannoys and buy more speakersto go along with them, if so which ones? Or just forget about them and buy a whole new speaker setup?
    How close to the TV can I set the Tannoys? My room is not that big (about 10 feet X 14) so if I buy any new speakers I would like them to be magnetically shielded.

I think I should say I will be using the amp to listen to music more than watching movies.

Thanks for any help :)

2. bob007

bob007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you a budget in mind?
    What is you preference when listening to music..Stereo/Multichannel?
    How do you view your movies DVD/Sky etc?

3. Pack Dude

Pack Dude

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +98
    Hi
    I can spend about £1500 on speakers but would rather spend less.
    I have only listened to music in stereo with an Pioneer A400 amp (its not even remote control) so don’t know what multi channel would be like but I have a feeling I would prefer normal stereo.

I have nothing to go with my amp but a Toshiba (2939DB or
    something like that) 29inch TV a Pace sky box a Sony HIFI VCR and my computer which has a 5.1 soundcard.
    I will be buying a DVD player after I get the speakers.

I am only really starting out with the amp my first buy.

4. bob007

bob007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: