need help with speaker choice

annieee3

Standard Member
Hi,

I'm a complete beginner in this field, so would appreciate any help you might be able to give me.

I'm looking to get a surround sound setup for my flatscreen and ps3. I want to use it mainly for films and the occassional bit of music. Overall, I'm hoping for a good quality set up on a budget that can cope with both well.

I was given two old aesprit AE300's by my dad and was looking to integrate them into a 5.1 setup. However, looking into this I've learnt the old models are hard to find/expensive and have read you can't mix and match different speaker series. Is this correct? Are there any speakers that would be compatible with my existing ones even if i were to have a 2.1 setup with a nicer quality (as i'm on a tight budget).

Alternatively I wondered whether I sould get a new cheaper (£100-£200 mark) 5.1 set up and forget about my existing AE's. I've been looking at the Onkyo TX-SR576 av reciever as it's got good reviews for the price. are there any speakers in my budget that would match this av well?

If you have any advice or suggestions of speaker systems that would suit me, or which option i should go with, all help will be great!

PSM1

Distinguished Member
You could have a 2.1 system with your current speakers since there is no need to match a sub to the other speakers. With speakers it is more important to having a tonally matching front 3 speakers. You may be able to find a centre from another make may match OK but you would need to demo to determine this. So it is possible to mix and match it is just a little more difficult.
The 576 is quite an old reciever now (around 2 years old), not sure what price you have seen it for but a quick look I have had seems to have it at around £180 which seems expensive. Especially considering the reciever above, 607, can be bought for £150 from Richer Sounds.