1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with Pioneer PDP 435 HDE and Denon A11

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Bapu, May 3, 2005.

1. Bapu

Bapu

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to this and need some help and pointers.

In the menu of Denon A11 you can choose progressive scan, I understand the difference between interlaced and progressive, but that is about it. There is another option in the menu called progressive mode. It's here it stops up. I can choose out 5 alternatives:

Auto1 Select this when image recorded to the dvd is film material
    Auto2 Select this when the image recorded to the dvd is 30-frame film material
    Video1 Select this for regular video material
    Video2 Select this for material having little movement
    Video3 Select this for material having a lot of movement

Out of the description of the manual I'm not sure what to select.

My Dvd player is connected by dvi-hdmi to the plasma screen.

I also wonder about the dvi settings on the dvd player. What to choose between 720p or 1080i.. As far as I can tell 1080i looks a little better..
    If I use p or i I would have to adjust progressive scan to intelaced or progressive?
    And can the Pioneer handle 1080i? Is 1080i a hdtv format?

Proboably many silly questions, but pretty new to this.

Bapu

2. Bapu

Bapu

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've found out a little. The plasma screen supports 720p and 1080i
    but I don't know wich is better..

And when watching a dvd, does it have to be hd ready or does the dvdplayer/plasma convert the picture?

As for the progressive modes I'm still very insecure..

Bapu

3. MPK

MPK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +8