Need help with my Sony HT-DDW880, HDMI switching?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by simz, May 7, 2007.

Tags:
  1. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I've got a Sony HT-DDW880, i now have 2 hdmi devices and this Sony amp has hdmi switching, so Ive hocked them up to the amp and them feed the sign by hdmi to my projector, but i can not get no picture when i have the 2 devise connect to the amp? the 2 devices in question are a Samsung up scaling DVD player and PS3, Ive had a good read through the instruction book for the amp but that is not very clear at all. So please if anyone has this same amp and help me out here i will be very grateful:smashin:

    Mark
     
  2. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone help here please?
     
  3. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please can any one advice me here? I really need to know how to use the HDMI Switching and the component switch too?

    thanks Mark
     
  4. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Really need help guys, ive spend 3hr today trying to sort this out:eek:
     
  5. fizl

    fizl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Not in London
    Ratings:
    +460
    If you look on page 62 of the manual there is a section on assigning the HDMI inputs to the inputs used by the amp - have you done this?

    shaz
     
  6. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0

    Thanks got it sorted out now.

    Just one more thing tho. They does not seem to be any audio then just using HDMI? i have i have to use the optical cable? Is that right?
     
  7. bluzman

    bluzman
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    California Coast
    Ratings:
    +5
    Some receivers are just HDMI switchers. They do not process HDMI video or audio signals - they only pass them through to another device. Check your manual in the section that describes connecting HDMI cables to the receiver.

    If your receiver can process HDMI audio signals, the manual should something like "Digital audio signals transmitted by HDMI can be output from the speakers connected to the receiver."

    If your receiver cannot process HDMI audio signals, the manual should something about connecting a separate digital audio cable (coax or optical will work equally well) and that you will only get sound from the TV speakers if you do not connect a separate digital audio cable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...