1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help with DIY Projector screen!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jnr, Dec 16, 2004.

1. jnr

jnr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am just about to buy a Sanyo PLV-Z1 & I want to make my own Screen. The PJ will be about 9 feet away from the screen. Can anyone tell me what would be the ideal size screen to get a shrp image in 16.9?. Also Can I use an MDF board painted white/with Black boaders or would it be better to use fabric stretched over a frame.....Any Suggestions Greatly app, as I am new to this game.

2. explicitlyrics

explicitlyrics

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +9
    Have a look in the Projection screens section of these forums. There are many previous posts about homemade screens. From what I remember about cloth Vs paint, there isnt a specific answer as it depends on the cloth/paint used.

Use the Projection calculator on www.projectorcentral.com to find out what screen sizes are possible with various throw lengths.

3. UrbanT

UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,038
    Hi jnr,

The screen in my cinema is homemade. Once you have decided the size, then a simple frame is made of 4x2 wood for the correct size (allowing 2 inches around the edge for a border). I bought proper screen material from www.ellie.co.uk, and stretched it over the frame and stapled in place. I know people also use black out material as a cheaper alternative.

The best border I found was 2" flok tape from www.nexnix.co.uk, perfect for the job.

4. jnr

jnr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0