Need Help with a new system configuration (noob)

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by AlexDragan, Jun 12, 2015.

1. AlexDragan

AlexDragan
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello guys. I'm pretty new to this field and don't know much about hi fi, the lingo and not even the basics.

I want to buy myself an audio system pretty soon for home use. The room I want to place it in is aprox. 5x3 meters in size. My budget goes up to $500 so it won't be anything fancy. I just want to be able to make a wise choice for what I can afford. I need to be able to hook it up to a laptop and maybe to the TV. Mostly I want to use it for music and I won't be using it on very high volume very often, so quality is a priority. I like my music loud, but not very loud most times. Design is not very important.

So please if you can help with advice, maybe some links, it would be much appreciated. I'm here for your questions also.

2. BlueWizard

BlueWizard
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,309
    You can use a simply Analog Connection for the Computer, though a USB would be a bit better, but given you limited budget, just connect to the Audio Out or Headphone Jack of your Computer.

For your TV, that most likely mean an Optical Audio Output, though some TV has Coaxial, and others have Analog out. Analog simply means NOT digital.

Is that USA$500 or some other country that used Dollars, or could you simply not find the "£" sign?

In US Dollars, that is a very lean budget, and in Canadian Dollars an even leaner budget.

If you are in the USA, that is OK, we can still make some recommendations, but we need to know your location before we comment.

Next, can we assume you are talking about a Stereo system, since $500 is crazy lean, though not impossible, for a AV Surround System.