1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help - Transferring VHS to PC to edit.

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Erick, Oct 4, 2005.

  1. Erick

    Erick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North of London
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a load of home videos on 8mm tapes and VHS tapes, but I want to edit them and put them onto DVDs. I have a Philips USB video converter that has a SVHS socket, L/R audio and video socket I simply connect it to my VCR and PC. When I use the software it only allows me to transfer it directly onto DVD without giving me a chance to edit it. Does anyone know how I can do this?

    Is there a simpler way of doing it?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Erick

    Erick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North of London
    Ratings:
    +0
    It doesn't actually do anything at the moment as it doesn't work, either that or I'm doing something wrong.

    This is the box, the DVD drive has worked perfectly for simply burning discs -

    [​IMG]

    Here is the converter -

    [​IMG]

    This is the setup with my 8mm video camera, I tried the VCR and nothing happened -

    [​IMG]

    When I connect it all up, the video camera connection shows the video on my monitor -

    [​IMG]

    But when I press record this is displayed -

    [​IMG]

    Anyone? The provided manual is rubbish.
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    You should have Windows Movie Maker as part of xp, it's free, might be worth giving that a try just to see if it is a software problem?

    lisa
     
  4. Erick

    Erick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North of London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I have Movie Maker, but I can't even get the video onto the PC in the first place. It will only allow me to transfer the video directly onto DVD.
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Ok, sorry if this sounds stupid, but in Movie Maker you can change the settings as to where you want the movie to be stored, can you select a location on your hard drive for this? Maybe it is defaulting to your DVD drive, or maybe that software you are using only allows transfers straight to DVD??

    lisa
     
  6. Erick

    Erick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North of London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes that's exactly what it is doing, is there no way around this?

    Is there any other way of getting 8mm (non DV) camcorder videos onto my PC for editing?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Use different software? I am suprised Windows Movie Maker does not allow you to save it to the hard drive, there are plenty of other software out there that does allow it, but not sure if it is free. There is a camcorder forum, maybe worth asking in there?

    lisa
     
  8. Erick

    Erick
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North of London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah, it works now with Movie Maker, it captures the video! However because my video camera only has one audio-out socket (a white one) the sound is only coming out of the left side, when using the VCR it works perfectly. I hope I don't have to transfer all of the 8mm tapes onto VHS first, or do I?

    Thanks for the help, I'm gradually getting there.
     
  9. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +333
    Does your camera record in stereo or mono?

    If it does record in stereo you probably need a different lead that splits the audio out into left and right channels.

    Glad you have made progress :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...