Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Need help to get a HTPC

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by TheDoctor, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    Hello

    Can anyone advise on where I could get a ready-made simple HTPC (well sort of.....). I will only be using it to play HD content on my Pioneer 505XDE (has VGA and HDMI inputs). So as long as it can do this I will be happy. I don't need it for recording or watching tv.

    I am looking for something small to keep in my living room. Otherwise what components, and specs should I be looking for in order to build it myself.

    Thanks in advance.

    Doc
     
  2. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    Hello All

    I now have a PC on it's way to me. It has a dual Athlon 64 processor (4200+) and an Nvidia 7800 GT graphics card.

    Before I buy a cable I would appreciate some advice, especially from Pioneer XDE owners:

    Should I use a DVI - HDMI cable or DVI - VGA cable?

    Thanks in advance.

    Doc
     
  3. Andy Leitch

    Andy Leitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    563
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    None of your business
    Ratings:
    +69
  4. tim k

    tim k
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    dvi to hdmi, available from ebay at around 15 quid, just make sure its the dvi-d digital cable, not the anaologue ones. pictures crackin mate, im typing 8ft away from my pd7200. :D
     
  5. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Hope you stocked on hard drives, I've been struggling with 500GB despite deleting most stuff after watching it.
     
  6. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    It will be stocked with 1000GB. So realistically, I could buy a DVI-D to DVI-D cable and try connecting using a HDMI and VGA adaptor at the plasma end and see what gives the best results.

    Thanks

    Doc
     
  7. Snap

    Snap
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Celle (Hannover)
    Ratings:
    +1
    AFAIK, DVI-D is pure digital and not compatible with VGA. You need DVI-I output of your graphic card (with 4 extra RGB connections) and DVI-I cable1, then a DVI-I to HDMI converter and DVI-I to VGA. IMHO.
     
  8. TheDoctor

    TheDoctor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +42
    Thanks for that Snap. I think I will go for the VGA option as it will only be an occasional connection.

    I did a VGA test run with another PC and was very impressed with the picture quality on the 505XDE (and it wasn't even HD content).

    I am currently using the HDMI connection for my dvd player and I also have to think about SKY HD!!!!!!

    All the best

    Doc
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice