Quantcast

need help! played with onkyo receiver settings - need sound fixed!

mysticalice

Standard Member
I have an Onkyo HT-S6200 that i just got and hooked up to my new projector. Blu-ray player feeds through the receiver, to the projector, both audio and video, via HDMI.

Here's the problem:
I set it up, plugged the microphone in, and went through the 'calibration' settings. Watched a bit of a movie, and everything sounded great.

Then i started playing around with the receiver, and pressing the 'music' and 'movie' buttons on it. It scrolled through several settings: "neo 5.1" and a few others. Each one sounded different. Now i'm trying to figure out how to get it back to an optimal setting - one for watching, say, a blu-ray or DVD. how do i fix it? run the speaker calibration again? Help me out here please! :(

Also, i noticed the maximum volume is '79'. Well i've watched pieces of several movies, and i'm watching them at volume 70-72. It's loud, but not overly loud, just right for the movie. To me, that's a lot closer to the 'max' than i like... not really a whole lot of 'headroom' in the system. Is there some setting perhaps that i'm missing? I have it set up in a 13x12' room, so it's not overly big.

Thanks in advance to the answers to both questions.
:)

Duke

I have an Onkyo HT-S6200 that i just got and hooked up to my new projector. Blu-ray player feeds through the receiver, to the projector, both audio and video, via HDMI.

Here's the problem:
I set it up, plugged the microphone in, and went through the 'calibration' settings. Watched a bit of a movie, and everything sounded great.